AMBITION KILLER

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

YOUR SALARY IS AN AMBITION KILLER

I recall perfectly when I had my bachelors in economics, I made noise about it as if I have won lottery. In a conversation with my cousin and some guys , he openly said "You Had first class so what?". Infact i got so disturbed and discouraged by his words, to the extent that we hardly talked, because I felt like he was jealous. I promised him I will get a good job and then he will realize that my first class is something. Within weeks I got myself as a part time job and begun to earn some stipends because i couldn't call it salary. Everyone in my household saw that i am very serious with my job, but I always complained about my stipend(salary). It been three years after my national service and I have nothing to show. I am even sleeping in my moms room.I realized something from my cousin side, he was always bringing in something new to the house and seem very comfortable. I became so depressed because all my applications have received a negative feedback and it seems I have lost hope. One day i approached him finally after a long time and he revealed something to me. He was second year IT students but he makes alot of money. He told me frankly that for him he will not work for anyone in his lifetime because "SALARY IS AN AMBITION KILLER". According to him he started a mini importation business after doing research online. And all the electronic gadgets i see in his room he did not purchase it with his own money but through profit generated from the business. He is also into laptop repairs and software promotions. He said :" I planned to become and entrepreneur and I have already started". I was speechless the whole time because I realized he was a young man with ambitions and it seem i had nothing in mind at all. My salary indeed is killing my ambitions.
There I got an answer to the question " YOU HAVE FIRST CLASS SO WHAT?". I had first class but I had no ambitions'
ambition.jpg

WHAT IS AMBITIONS?

From online oxford dictionary;

a strong desire to do or to achieve something, typically requiring determination and hard work.

Mostly growing up we are heavily sensitized to study hard sand obtain good grades which will land us in our dream jobs. Our youth have been sensitized by many academicians that without being in school you will never be successful at all. A lot of us graduate from schools with virtually no skills at all. In a school that i am currently teaching in, there is no provision to promote IT education, sometimes when you ask students to research on certain key problems they find it very difficult. All they know is that if they get a good result they will surely get a good paid job. There is virtually no room for active skills development in our traditional schools, unless you attend a technical or vocational schools. There is a need for society to sensitize people on the need to have ambitions and also the need to work on them.Our educational system has gradually killed ambitions of youths and to me it does not come as a wonder when i seem most youth of our time in all forms of vices. You must be someone who has ambitions and ready to work hard to achieve them.
ambition-full-width-image.png
pic source http://lisapromise.com

STEEMIT TO THE RESCUE

Ever since I got introduced to steemit,and after our MEETUP organised by @steemitghana , I now live a very ambitious life and i am very determined to change not only my life but others too. A lot of projects are beginning to see day-light and I know things will never be the same. I promised myself to break-away from my paid job and set up my own business powered by steemit. I don't even sleep in my mothers room anymore, but I am always in my office trying to come up with new ideas.I have learnt alot from my cousin and from my newly found family here on steemit.
will3.jpg

DON'T DEPEND ON THE GOVERNMENT BUT RATHER WAKE UP AND PUT YOUR MIND TO WORK

Sort:  

Nice piece and i totally agree with you. Nobody ever got free by depending on someone.

STEEMIT GHANA CURATION PARTY

Your post was featured in our most recent #steemitghana #curationparty post. We are glad you were able to make it and hope to see you next week

Keep Steeming

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60462.58
ETH 2636.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58