Redeem Rewards

in #steemit7 years ago

I love mysteries. Since the recent Steemit update, a new button appeared in the Wallet Section : " Redeem Rewards ".
I hesitated before activating this button fearing to trigger a chain reaction that could potentially destroy Steemit and the entire world. I then cooled down and started my investigation. The questions were :
1 Will my earnings suddenly disappear if I don't " redeem " them in time ? Answer : No.
2 Do I get interests on the value while the money is still on " stand by " ? Answer : No.
Next step was to understand :
Whyyy a new button that previously didn't exist ?
Many hypotheses emerged :
1 To make you active on Steemit.
2 To save the money related to inactive accounts.
2 To fight bots.
3 To be sure you log in with your password before getting your money.
4 To scare the user so that Steemit can take your earnings away.
5 To save space on the steemit blockchain.

clef.PNG

The answer is number 5.

Steemit is growing and driving more people to this ( fabulous ) community. More space is needed on the blockchain in order to facilitate the greater number of transactions.

I am not technical but I know I can " Redeem Rewards " without being immediatly severly injured.

Image credit : Pixabay

Sort:  

I too had wondered if my rewards would disappear if I didn't redeem them immediately. So thanks for that. My other question is, if I redeem my rewards, will those post continue to earn? or does it stop once you have redeemed?

The posts stop earning after 7 days. To redeem the rewards doesn't stop the earning.

thanks for the clarification!

That have sense. 5. - is first about what I was thinking.

Thank you, you have solved my mystery!I will share even among Japanese users.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57913.08
ETH 2452.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36