Posting Out of Want Vs. Posting Out of Need.

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)

There are two ways use Steem... you either use it out of need or out of want.

You see, Steem has a cool ecosystem where everyone can earn rewards, as ALL of you know because it was the primary reason 95% of you joined.

However, throughout evolution of the platform and the experiences users gather, they evolve to either post out of want or out of need.

Throughout this post, I thought about going over these two types of users, and throw my personal opinions in the mix as I go, because this is a post out of want and those have the biggest slices of our heart in them - hence tend to be more personal to those out of need (which I've written countless myself, and even the biggest "out of want" types post at times).

So, let me try to make things clearer.

The Posting Out of Need:

When we enter Steem, we're with that mindset that the sky is the limit and we usually begin strong.

Personally, and those who know me know this to be true, I never struggled with motivational issues, but the truth is most of the new users do as the voting numbers don't seem that rewarding to them at first.

Some even turn to begging - euww!

However, some of the members evolve to posting out of need.

These are the community members that post out of the need to tackle the reward pool, which is totally expectable and far from any judgement on my part.

You have high follower accounts or initiatives that strive to post placeholder content everyday (you know damn well who those are) and even the random full time steemian who knows that his writting is his sole source of income.

I was never 100% this type, but I leaned towards it way more when steem peaked - which is, again, natural.

This is great to grow your steem account, heck my SP skyrocketed week after week after week. The numbers adding up were crazy and I grew from 0 to 3000 SP in 1 year, spending the rest of the time earning just 700 SP more because I stopped posting everyday, twice a day.

This has slowed down my growth and made people think I was inactive.

I am not inactive in the blockchain, I'm still reading, learning about new projects and going along the blockchain. I am kinda inactive on posting and actively working on my Crypto Empire community, but that's because I shifted a ton towards the second type.

The Posting Out of Want:

I got engaged, those who are closer to me may remember this time.

Being engaged meant I had to pay for my wedding, thus I got a second job as a Marketing Consultant (to add to my Marketing University job) and puff - no time for Steem!

This has shifted my focus on the blockchain.

I was no longer the rockstar I used to be, the guy people knew meant business and got the Crypto Empire community to the hundreds and hundreds of members and dozens of embassy teams... I became them posting out of want guy.

...and it is different but in no way worse.

This post right here, it's a post I'm writing because I wanted to.

I finished a huge working day and talked to my closest friends on the Crypto Empire, those loyal guys who didn't quit Steem last year with the price crash, guys like @eonwarped , @sames , @lunaticpandora and the likes.

And I thought... man, let's do a quick post on Steem, I miss those!

And it's feeling great.

I understand the value of thinking about your audience, using hook techniques while writing, using my marketing skills to boost click rates, voting numbers and so on, and that was really exciting too.

...but writing with no concerns of those in mind and just because I want to is a nice thing as well, and made me value those who I thought lacked motivation - they were just on a different wave.

I consider myself far more mature than in 2017, and here I am, currently being a "Posting out of Want" guy, leaving the shiny methods, tips and tricks in the back for a bit and just having fun.

...When will the titan Marketer in me return? Well, not quite so soon, after all I'm still not married and the engagement is closer than ever.

Cheers!

Join the Crypto Empire Community

Sort:  

I mean that how social media should be like :P
Post what you want. Dlike has been great-get to share news that I want to share...

I think for the last 8 months or so, the number of people posting out of want verses need has shifted. More postings out of want, I hope the trend continues, but I think it will just be a trend when the prices are down, as the price rise of the last few weeks show I think there are already more people posting out of a need style than a want style, but neither one is a a bad way to do it. It is just different ways of viewing steem and the ecosystem, not all of the out of need posters are doing it for the money either, some of them have made a commitment to a group of people to do a post at a certain time, and need to get that post out.

Good luck on the engagement and the eventual marriage.

Congratulations @spiritualmax! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 12000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 13000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83