Ehm...

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Ehm...


Dear reader - Steem has been renamed to Hive since May 2020. My content therefore has moved with me to Hive, and I hope to see you there: peakd.com/@soyrosa.

Sort:  

Thanks for this. Very useful evidence that Steemit and Facebook are competitors in the online advertising space.

I mean... indeed - it's pretty interesting they are displaying ads here. One thing Steemit has that other social sites don't is pretty good SEO.

I thought that was the whole point, they get paid for selling ads and they get more demand/exposure for Steem. So they are charging dollars?

Yes - the community wanted the ads to be paid in STEEM, but they started by selling them for dollars as far as I know :D In theory that would help bring the selling Steemit Inc has to do down, but I don't feel like that has happened yet. Don't have actual numbers though, just the 'feel' of what I hear in Discord etc.

Selling ads in Steem would probably make the sale more difficult because then the company would have to figure out how to buy Steem and go through the process of converting dollars to Steem. It seems like it would be worth it long-term for Steemit to help Steem in that way, but I think they may have just been looking for a quick cash infusion to keep afloat. Regardless, it seems like a squandered opportunity. :(

I wonder how much that cost them, the cheeky f***ers!

What if all ads had to be paid IN STEEM?! Would have been an epic consequence for them buying this ad space :')

I have run an adblocker for years, and haven't seen an ad on Steem yet. I'm bad.

But the rates for advertising must be pretty good if Zuck is advertising here.

Yes, I never see ads either, this was a coincidence and it blew my mind - lol. Well, either the rates are good, or they think they find an... audience here? Now they are also flirting with a future... 'crypto'? :') (a Banker's Coin more likely)

It advertises on Partiko too. Or did, not sure if it still does.

I only ever saw the ads on Partiko that you could watch on own volition for Partiko Points

Yes, those are the ones. When I tried them for the first time, there were plenty of FB ads. Later they became diversified and more local ads. I check from time to time to see how this feature evolves.

Lol. Go to facebook...to talk about steem :p

I don't trust these guys with their ads and my money, or I would crowdfund the biggest ad campaign on Facebook for Steem for sure :D

I'm getting peanut butter ads lol

LOL - better than Facebook ads :D

Now that is something I might even be interested. New car? Nah. Holiday? Nah. Give me peanut butter and I will live happily ever after.

If I turn on my ad blocker, I'd be seeing ads about gambling or gaming platfom :-D well at least it was then. I'll try to see what kind of ads I am getting today.

Hahaha - Gambling, another 'good thing' going for Steem :D

Seems like that would be fair. :)

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Congratulations @soyrosa! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 9000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 10000

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97