Steemit Meetup In University Of Baguio Philippines Aug 25! Theme: "Grow, Connect & Succeed. Become The Best Version Of Yourself."

in #steemit7 years ago

After speaking with one of the head of departments in the University of Baguio, we concluded that is possible to gather 1000 or more students to introduced them to steemit. 

I was able to let them know that I will not be the only speaker present during the seminar but @surpassinggoogle will be there to enlighten the students and tell them about the benefits of being a steemian.

The potential is "1000 or more students" to be gathered to a conference, from the university of Philippines Baguio, both high school and university students. However, we concluded that we will pace things and cater to around 300 students from the Dept. of Mass communication, this Friday August 25 as they have a ready-made conference hall with all the props e.g. projector, sound system etc

According to Mr. Cesar the head of the Arts department; "on Friday, 300+ students from the Arts department will be gathered for a general assembly, thus, the aim is to simply hijack the event, me and @surpassinggoogle going there to speak with the students and staff about steemit.

@surpassinggoogle and myself have thought of how we could effectively spread awareness to steemit around the Philippines, even on a budget and a major part of his methods is hijacking existing events and integrating steemit into them. Thus, plan was for me to visit Baguio, a city away from Manila, with the aim of visiting schools to set up a potential meetup with groups and their leaders. 

I got ready for my trip which took 7 hours by road. Upon arrival at Baguio, even with all the determination that @surpassinggoogle had helped infuse into me and my own dwindling confidence, I was still afraid that my going there might not bring good outcome but to my surprise, things turned out well. 

I lodge at a popular pension home in Baguio which had a very nice view, the weather was very cool. I took my time to do some preparation for my mission to storm the school and bring steemit awareness to as many students as possible.

@surpassinggoogle had always spoke of presenting steemit to people in a way that empowers them, thus, i took cognizance of that and this steemit design below, a database sheet and a potential intro speech, to be delivered to any potential group I will opportune to be speak with.



The whole adventure was a challenge no doubt, as i have never really done large scale steemit talks but i forged ahead.

I asked around and discovered that I was staying very close to a big university. I prepared myself and began my journey. I got print out for my design and database then took a cab to the university of Philippines Baguio. I was ready for surprises.

Upon arrival at the university, it was almost 1p.m still around lunch time. I didn't know even a single soul there. 


The school canteen was at the entrance and when I entered, there where lots of students eating in groups and doing their assignments at the same time. Then I thought to myself it wouldn't be easy finding someone who is willing to listen to me. 

Thus, speaking to a leader will have more impact, then i saw two men wearing I.D's, I spoke to them and found out they where professors from the I.T department. When I started to talk about steemit, but they just walked away and entered the elevator. 

Still around the canteen area, I went to buy me some food, so I can find someone to share a table with for a chance to talk. I got some vegetables, and took a sit with two girl in their final year. After talking about steemit they informed me that they aren't interested because they are too busy.

 I decided to go into the school and with the help of the two girls and I found myself in the department of Hotel management.. so I spoke to a professor of bar-tending, highlighting all the benefits but he just said "NO". 

I hung around and after a few minutes a very curious guy came to my desk and asked what the deal was and when I told him he was very interested. He signed off on my data sheet, as well as his two friends who promised to bring more people. 


Now i got a bit pumped up after this, so I decide to go to the arts department and there, i got good reception. 

From the Dean's office, I was directed to Mr Cesar who saw all my points, and showed lot of interest in steemit as it will be an opportunity for his students to practice their writing, content creation and human interaction since steemit has a community. I also made mention of the need of content creators, even if they would want to create content in their native language and he got even more delighted to know about steemit, so we decided that coming Friday would be perfect to come back Baguio, with the aim of enlightening around 300 Mass Communication students and staff in the first meeting. In the long term, he is looking at other gatherings that will involve even high school students and other University Departments under Arts, from his University.

Vote @steemgigs For Witness!

Simply visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" in the first search box as seen below:


Sort:  

Well done!! Do it in Vigan!! @surpassinggoogle

Nice! my pinsan ako dun :)

nice meetup @southparkqueen .... its good to discuss many projects and issues.......

Wow. Amazing. Let me join. I'm from Baguio

Kumusta soutpark! :) nice post. Thats totally awesome. I don't know why it took me this long to find u, but now I'm following u and upvoted. btw, it was nice to meet u at the steemfest in manda recently.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65641.09
ETH 3479.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50