Reminiscing the good old days Vs SC01/SC02 Vote

in #steemit4 months ago (edited)

It's been a while since I shared a post on my blog. It's kind of like writing in an open diary, no lock, just there for anyone interested!

Reflecting on my school days, I recall relishing the spotlight, but not in the typical way—I had to earn it. Picture me as a backbencher, uninterested in the front row but eagerly vying for recognition through something extraordinary. It wasn't about being extraordinary per se; it was about captivating others with something unique. Despite steering clear of the front row, I consistently aimed for the teacher's eye contact, wanting my aura to stand out.

I resisted being a teacher's puppet; my aim was to earn their respect and favor by showcasing my capabilities and originality. Looking back, it seems a bit silly, but that was me back then. The joy of hearing my name called out for something unique, something extraordinary, would linger in my mind for days. The shy side of me couldn't help but blush uncontrollably.

One vivid memory involves my biology teacher (whom I had a cute little crush on) in college. When he remarked about my "Malaria and Lifecycle of plasmodium in Female Anopheles Mosquitoes/humans" paper being the best in front of the whole class, I couldn't help but blush like anything. And to make matters worse, he had to mention my blushing in a serious tone while shedding light on its biology and physiology:

Blushing is a physiological response that involves the dilation of blood vessels in the skin, particularly in the face. It is controlled by the autonomic nervous system, specifically the sympathetic nervous system. The trigger for blushing can vary, but it often occurs in response to emotional stimuli, such as embarrassment, shyness, or stress

_7b4d5394-00b9-400d-b88f-33f2ee49717d.jpeg

The gaze of all the boys turned to my blush, and I could feel that my face was on fire. I wanted to vanish into thin air...

Mind you, my husband was one of the students in the class. I think he decided to marry me in that very moment, although he has a poor memory and is still confused about what led to his decision to marry me.

So you might be wondering why I'm telling you this. Well, it's a prelude to my actual topic. I apologize for its length; I have a habit of getting carried away.

--------------------

I read a post here on Steemit a few days back. I don't remember the exact details, but it was a contest about how you felt about the first vote from SC01 & SC02.

So, this long introduction sets the stage for what follows.

When I got the first vote, I didn't even know it was a thing. So, yes, a big, big surprise. It feels amazing, and I felt acknowledged. But later on, I got to know that it can be influenced by SEC challenges. Only recently, I learned that it can also be won by a mention in curators' reports.

So the first ever vote was on my SEC. I didn't win anything in the contest per se, but I still think that my content was appreciated because it was among so many other posts. Followed by another vote on the same day on my other post, which was not a challenge post but a story penned by my daughter for a contest by WOX. So yes, I happily assume my content was worthy of it.

And recently, I got SC02 vote — on my post irrespective of any contest or mention.

And how did I feel???

I won't lie a bit – it was a feeling almost the same as when my malaria paper stood out from the rest of the class. Yes, it did feel very good. You can't forget how I felt - I have just painted such a vivid picture for you!

P.S. I had used my father's postgraduate-level Microbiology book for Grade 11 test.

IMG_20240128_230638.jpg

My hubby's still convinced it was a sneaky move to pull out Dad's advanced microbiology book for a basic bio test. Well, he didn't score the teacher's compliments, so he's got every right to be peeved. But hey, that sly move scored me more than just grades – it won his heart through my blushing antics! Of course that was natural and totally uncontrolled.🫣☺️

Takeaway point: Is there even one??

Okay, perhaps, don't be shy when it comes to hard work and venturing out of your comfort zone with a sprinkle of creativity. It pays off in one way or another! :)

Edit: I was crossing my fingers for a sneak peek from @steemcurator01 and @steemcurator02 into my "past- contest" post, not merely seeking votes. Just hoping for a cameo comment. Hence the edit :)

Sort:  

Beautifully told, the story of the blushing girl... ;-)
Haha, I know the little squabbles and teasing about who looked at whom first and who probably fell in love first. Who was cooler and who wasn't interested at all and sometimes "I wish I hadn't fallen in love with you of all people"... Well, I guess that's part of a good relationship, it's certainly fun to argue while having fun. But honestly?!? Is your husband reading this? I think if I compared the first feelings of "romance" with those of receiving a sc-vote, we'd have a serious argument (even after almost 20 years)... Good luck... ;-)

Hahaha
Well, if you put it that way!
The analogy had nothing to do with romance really.
It was "my name" being announced by a favourite teacher vs Votes...

That feeling of romance isn't comparable to anything and will never be 😉

Every phrase you mentioned here has been said by either of us!
Love is such a universal language...

sometimes "I wish I hadn't fallen in love with you of all people".

It's a daily thing 😜

20 years of marriage and many more to go... ❤️
A power couple for sure!

Is he reading? My regards to him
Mine is from another planet. He only reads sports blogs. He has an update on every goal, every formula/ grand Prix car, every wicket and then there lives his second wife: ⛳

Is he reading?

Only my articles... ;-)

That's cute...

I'm wondering who else didn't read my crypto one 🫣

That's cute...

He is my biggest critic... 😉

I'm wondering who else didn't read my crypto one

Haha, really?
Well, me. Simply because I'm not interested in this crypto stuff (at the moment), there's a lot more I'm dealing with right now. In addition, I try to avoid the "Crypto Academy" with its pseudo-professors. Don't take it to heart, it's nothing personal, it's a historical thing.

Ouch...

Don't make me laugh.
I'm still in the "pseudo professor" mode

👩‍🏫 👩‍🏫👩‍🏫

No, no, you're not a professor (you didn't get the title). You are "only" a student who does the homework for the professors.
As I said: historical development. A lot has happened there in the "academy".
And now let me continue working on the explanation of "DAO"... ;-)
Oh, I think I'll leave the explanation alone. A short, simple message has a better chance of being read... ;-)

No, no, you're not a professor

As if I ever will be 😉

A short, simple message has a better chance of being read... ;-)

Really?
Under my post?
I doubt 🤔 😉

I have a suspicion... SСxx should come in here and check in))

Haven't tagged anyone 🤞
So, I don't think so 😉
Not being followed either 🫣

It's on my personal blog, inconspicuous among thousands of texts...

Big Brother sees everything🤣 😂😅

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

STEEM AUTO OPERATED AND MAINTAINED BY XPILAR TEAM
https://steemit.com/~witnesses vote xpilar.witness

"Become successful with @wox-helpfund!"
If you want to know more click on the link
https://steemit.com/@wox-helpfund ❤️

Thanks for sharing such an awesome post
@soulfuldreamer

You have received a 100% upvote, resteem and a feature in our latest blog discoveries post!

HAVE AN AMAZING DAY!

With love from...

bbbbbbbbb.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68643.75
ETH 3779.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67