WHICH CRYPTO CURRENCY SHOULD YOU INVEST IN ?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago


My approach to cryptocurrencies is similar to seed investing in startups. I create portfolio of 10 - 20 cryptos, and I expect most of them to fail. But hopefully one or two will become the next big thing, and make it all worthwhile. Also I am investing only money I am 100% ready to lose, in fact I regard all my money in cryptos as lost already. Any better outcome is just pleasant surprise.

Steps

First I have to strongly believe that whole industry (cryptocurrencies) is disruptive and is here to stay and take over. And that belief must come from understanding, not blind wishes. For that, some studying is necessary - I read BTC whitepaper and Whitepaper of every cryptocurrency from TOP 10 by market cap to develop a strong base knowledge of the industry. I ask questions on reddit, etc. I stay clear from spam Facebook groups full of hyped up people talking about random price fluctuations.
Then I start researching cryptocurrency by cryptocurrency. I quickly skim through the webpage. If I do not understand the key value proposition of the cryptocurrency, I write it off. I like to understand what I am buying, and there is lot of bullshit out there, with very unclear (if any) value proposition (usually anything regarding social media is bullshit).
If I understand and like the value proposition of a coin or token, I am going to see under which blockchain is it build. Most of them are build under Ethereum. So I ask myself - does it make sense to invest in this coin? Isn’t it better to invest directly into Ethereum? How are they correlated?
If I see the coin is priced pretty low (comparing market cap), I might go directly for the coin. If it already went up couple of hundreds or thousands of %, I might as well invest directly into ETH.
When I decide the price is right, I am going to dig deeper - reading whitepaper, reddit boards (sometimes you find pearls like this ). I ask some hard questions -Is it inflationary and how much? Is it valuable for this project to use blockchain? Most of the services could just as well use SQL database and it wouldn’t matter. I beware of same old business disguising itself as disruptive blockchain tech. There are plenty of them.
I pay special attention to team - who are these guys? How experienced are they? Are they fully committed or is this just a sidekick project? Especially - who are developers and how many of them is there? If I see 7 founders, and only 1–2 are devs (the rest usually being “marketing, community management, finance, sales, visionary…”) I run away.
If the coin passes all these filters, I am going to close my eyes and buy for couple of bucks. I always only buy for as much as I can lose. I am not going to daytrade, stare into charts or panic sell. I am going to let it lie for 1–5 years, occasionally watching and reading the news about project. I also set up some sell limit order for 1/3 - 1/2 of the investment for 300% - 600% to secure a profit and freeroll if it spikes suddenly (which happens a lot here), depends on the coin and my faith in it.

Sort:  

you should follow these steps to make your choice

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64411.29
ETH 3516.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55