Should I continue to use Steemit ? Insta girls' thought on Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Dear steemit users.

Just joined steemit for trial! :wink:

But first, I would like to share my thought on this decentralized social platform as a beginner and ask some questions to steemit users, in other words, to test waters whether it is really a working social network. I guess if I could get my answers that proves it is working ;)

My thought on STEEMIT.

I am one of the few woman working in the crypto industry. Joined this industry with great interest with a decentralized system and hope that I can be a part of something very innovative and powerful. well.. just fell in love with the ideal behind blockchain tech right away!

girls.jpg
However, one day I asked about blockchain technology to my girlfriends (photo) who are not in this industry, they said they heard only about bitcoin and its price just keeps going up but have concerned it may be a ponzi like. :pensive:
We rarely meet but update each other on facebook, Insta and snapchat, etc like most of the people do especially Instagram for girls are like their daily newspaper.

So, I tried to explain about Steemit where you can post as you always do with some monetary incentive and your data can be owned by you. (correct me if i am wrong about this). but again, they were not very enthusiastic.... :cold_sweat:

Here is my thought on why the popular users don't attract to steemit at this moment (I understand it still is an early stage )

  1. For the beginner, especially for whom don't have any clues what is blockchain and cryptocurrencies, It can be daunting to
    learn about the monetary system and process of getting steem power exchange them etc.,

  2. Contents are very much skewed to crypto related topics.

  3. Language barrier - This is also a question.
    I am native Korean and it's a lot easier for me to post in Korean but only tried to write in English because most of the influential users who have more voting power are English speakers... Isn't that a barrier for users who write in the different language?

  4. Please feel free to comment anything about your experience using steemit. I want to explore through you first then participate
    this amazing platform!

    Lastly, I do really believe in that social networks or any social platforms that are run by users participation (contents) should not be only owned and controlled by some board of directors and shareholders... but also by the users who contributed with data using their precious time. Therefore, I am very looking forward to seeing Steemit grow! :thumbsup:

    Q. What shall I continue to post about? what are you interested in all? and what are you posting about in steemit?

Sort:  

Yes, you need to keep going. Please dont stop :)

I agree, the language barrier makes it a lot more difficult. I would rather write in swedish because i feel that i can express myself much better. But i also think this is an opurtunitie to develop my english writing.

Good questions, I think you already know more about this that I do. I will follow this post just because I want to see how people answer you being very new myself.

Welcome! And, congratulations! You are the winner of today's Fish Net Stalking Award. (See this post for explanation: https://steemit.com/blog/@fishyculture/introducing-fish-net-stalkings)
I have upvoted and resteemed your post, I will feature you on my blog, and I am leaving you a tip! I also will follow you so long as you keep your content quality high.

That is my "standard line." I have no worries about your content quality...
Now then, the language barrier thing REALLY bothers me. People get their reputation score beat into the dirt for posting "spam" comments (like my announcement above, but since I give a little tip with it no one seems to object yet.) There ARE people who just spam the comments and hope for an upvote. There are also people who CLEARLY do not speak any English, and they are just trying to get the attention of Englsih speaking users. It is not hard to discern, go look at the blog. If everything they post is NOT English, then the comments are always "Great post!" in English, it is probably the only English phrase they know. How about an autotranslate option...?
The other porblem I see is that whales pretty much just vote each other up. They may pick a pet dophin or minnow, but they really only give heavy upvotes to their inner circle. I have not been here long, that may be a wrong perception, but that is what SEEMS to go on to me. That is OK, if the minnows support each other, we can still do fine.
As a girl who bought my first bitcoin less than a month ago, I am hoping you stick around and can help me get up to speed on cryptos!

You still continue to post since it is the best community for you girls, followed you already so i can see your instagram post.

you are my 1st follower thanks :) how did you find it? don't say you are a bot... :cry:

nope , i'm not a bot but probably a coincidence.. just do blogging and all we go as it is.

소피스월드님 반가워요~ 말씀하신데로 블록체인이니 가상화폐 시스템에 대한 이해가 필요하여 진입장벽이 있는것 같은데 향후 인터페이스 개선을하면 좀 나아지지 않을까 생각되네요^^

반갑습니다~ 스티밋 어떻게 쓰고 계세요~

전 주로 kr 태그 활용해서 한글로 작성하고 있습니다. 관심사(미술,과학,책)라던가 사진도 올리고... 하지만 작성후 7일이 지나면 삭제가 불가능하기 때문에 그 점을 유의하여 나중에 남으면 문제가 될만한지를 항상 생각합니다.

Hi @sophiesworld. Wellcome to steemit. Dont stop posting. I have followed you.

Hello, Sophiesworld, Let me welcome you to Steemit. Hope you gonna have fun with our community. Feel free to follow me @rightuppercorner Have a great time @rightuppercorner

Everyone is a beginner to start. Once you post here, it stays on the chain forever!

Don't forget to read up on "keys" & passwords.
Basically don't log in with your "master key"
Use your private posting key.

TL,DR: You should have ALREADY saved your PASSWORD that was used to generate your keys
Next go to Profile >Wallet > Permissions and copy paste all FIVE keys to a safe place.
(eg a text file on a memory stick)
The “OWNER” key is the ‘master key’, keep it VERY safe
Daily logins for posting should use your Private POSTING key.
Once you have copies saved, log out and log back in with USERNAME & your POSTING key
Hope that helps some.
$0.02

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44