UNDERATED SONG OF THE DAY!

in #steemit7 years ago


I don't own this song! I just thought that I would start this thread where I post songs that I think are underappreciated.
So the first song is by Anna Clendening called "To My Parents". If you listen to the lyrics or read them (attached below) you can hear or see her singing about how she's apologising that dissapointing her parent after all they have done for her, something that I think is relatable to everyone.

She was a Xfactor contestant so if you want to know more about her you can search her up on Youtube. I hope you enjoy my first ever entry of underrated song of the day!

LET ME REITERATE THAT I DON'T OWN ANYTHING AND I AM NOT TRYING TO CLAIM ANYTHING!

I'm sorry mom and dad
I know I've messed up bad
I should've, should've done, should've done better
I'm sorry mom and dad
For all the time I had
To get my life, to get my life together
But I didn't

1993
You gave birth to me
Sweet little baby girl
Had the world at my feet
Before I could even stand
Cradled me in your right and your left hand
A precious bundle of un-made plans
Hopes and dreams of bigger things
A bright future
So it seemed

But that light grew a little less bright
As I grew up and we began to fight
When I was 13
I was so damn mean
Running away
Had nothing more to say
Than "I hate you"

But that's not true now
I just don't, I just don't, I just don't know how
To say

I'm sorry mom and dad
I know I've messed up bad
I should've, should've done, should've done better
I'm sorry mom and dad
For all the time I had
To get my life, to get my life together
But I didn't

You never talk about me to your friends
Because you must be so embarrassed
I dropped out of college without any plans
Moved back home, I couldn't even pay rent
I was living on your couch
Trying to figure it out
Cutting myself up
Tearing myself down

I'm sorry mom and dad
I know I've messed up bad
I should've, should've done, should've done better
I'm sorry mom and dad
For all the time I had
To get my life, to get my life together
But I didn't

I'm sorry that I couldn't buy you that house upon the hill
Or take care of all your medical bills
I know I didn't make you proud
I should've been someone by now
But I never figured out how

I'm sorry that I couldn't buy you that house upon the hill
Or take care of all your medical bills
I know I didn't make you proud
I should've been someone by now
But I never figured out how

I'm sorry mom and dad
I know I've messed up bad
I should've, should've done, should've done better
I'm sorry mom and dad
For all the time I had
To get my life, to get my life together

I'm sorry mom and dad
I know I've messed up bad
I should've, should've done, should've done better
I'm sorry mom and dad
For all the time I had
To get my life, to get my life together
But I didn't

Sincerely, your daughter!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98