You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 1000 followers - another milestone reached

in #steemit6 years ago

Congratulations on your milestone! I am also enjoying the variety of puzzles that you are having every day. I've already seen other brain puzzles on Steemit but your games are the best and it surely deserves more participants.

I have a suggestion for the Daily Brain games. What if you should make it a requirement for us to comment our answers (even if there is already a winner), upvote, and resteem the previous post for us to qualify for the next game? And then you will add the list of players that are qualified to the next game post to make sure that nobody will just upvote and resteem yesterday's post so that they can qualify instantly. It may be a bit time consuming for you, but it's just my suggestion. :)

Sort:  

Thanks a lot for your support! :-)
It's a good idea, I will think about it!

Bumping up @sonofsatoshi's comment for visibility.

I disagree with this suggestion. Given @ksolymosi's stated goal of trying to increase participation from the general public, I believe that implementing this would actually decrease the quality of participation, and maybe the quantity too. There are two problems here: (1) the general public as a whole, is probably much lazier than you think, and (2) resteeming simply isn't as effective as what most people think.

There's no good reason for it to happen, but I have seen across multiple established contests, that if there's a requirement that even remotely looks like "work", people will shy away from it. In the case of contests adding requirements to future editions, participation has dropped immediately afterwards. As absurd as this sounds, requiring a resteem to qualify... counts as "work". Adding the comment requirement on top of this would attract mainly copypasta folks who aren't going to really participate -- they might help create the illusion of increased participation, but let me show you from personal experience -- copypasta sucks (make sure to sort those comments by age and then start from the bottom).

As for resteeming itself, here are results of what has happened to quiz/puzzle contests that I regularly or semi-regularly resteemed:

  • Weekly trivia contest with 20+ SBD prize pool... never got that big bump in participation, is now officially on hiatus.
  • Short quiz several times per week with prize pool based on article payout... never saw a rise in participation, got cancelled.
  • Short weekly quiz/challenge with prize pool based on article payout... I dunno, participation looked like it went up, but I think my resteeming it may have been the touch of death...
  • SAT-level math questions for STEEM (sizeable amounts too for the fastest)... participation increased by at least one person, but this contest has been on hiatus for a while (its author also hasn't posted on Steemit too much lately).

And for non-quiz contests...

  • A weekly rant contest... ok, this one seems to be doing all right, but it also had a sizeable Steemit community behind it. I doubt my resteeming this one had any impact.
  • A gaming contest run several times a month, with prize pool based on article payout... participation has grown, but definitely not due to my resteeming it (I was, and still am the only native English speaker involved with that small community).
  • A reading contest... ummm... it's probably better if the results were left unsaid.

I believe the proper phrase to describe these kinds of results is "lousy track record".

As much as I hate to say this, I think bidbots, when properly timed, are way more effective than resteems in increasing participation. Time the post and the bid so that the bidbot responds right away, get to trending, get more eyeballs. But this method is also the lazy way around and might not increase the quality of participation either.

Enough dismantling from me, I need to actually come up with my own solution to offer... and when I do, feel free to pick it apart if anything looks wrong with it.

:) Those are really good arguments worth considering. I just thought over my suggestions and I agree that making the rules more complicated can have an impact on the interest of the participants.

One other possible solution that I was thinking about is to compile the games into a weekly post. Or still make the regular daily brain games but we can only submit after Friday's game is posted, so that we will all participate to solve all puzzles from Monday to Friday, keep our answers stored in our files, and wait for the last game for the week before posting all of them in one comment.

Hmmm.... wouldn't that effectively turn the format into a weekly competition where the person willing to stay up all night on Thursday evening to catch the Friday post the moment it goes up, is the one who ends up winning 2.5 SBD? I don't think that would go over too well with the general public. Plus, there's already an established puzzle contest that runs 2-3 times a month, with 4 puzzles per round, and higher prizes. I don't think that converting this contest into a weekly format to "compete" with, and look similar to, the established one is a good idea.

Thanks a lot for your thoughts, I really appreciate that you support me. I answered to you and @doughtaker in a combined reply. See it above.

Have a nice day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58470.49
ETH 2617.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39