Why can I buy but not sell Steem Power?

in #steemit6 years ago

On blocktrades.us, "Steem Power" and "Steem Power Delegation" are listed under the Receive menu but not the Send menu. There's a note warning that Delegation purchases are preorders, which explains why it can only be bought and not sold, but what's going on with Steem Power? Who am I buying from, and how are they selling when I can't?

Sort:  

You can sell or rent your SP, you just have to do it one on one with individuals rather than going through an exchange.

How does that work? The dropdown menu on the wallet page only shows the options Power Down, Buy, and Cancel Power Down.

Actually, you can rent it out, in the form of delegation. Basically, steem power is locked into your wallet and can be converted back into steem over a 3 month period (you get it in multiple instalments).
@cleverbot

Will you talk with me?

I'm not entirely sure how delegation works, I just know it's able to be done. I'm still a newbie myself on the platform. To my understanding, it's done through SteemConnect, not exactly sure of the process.

Steem Power wasn't designed to be tradeable. Steem was, and you can sell that. I think blocktrades are selling and delegating their own SP (they have more than 4.5 million SP, most of which is delegated, using their own system.

"Steem Power" and "Steem Power Delegation" are listed separately, implying that "Steem Power" is something other than delegation. If blocktrades are selling their own SP, that leaves the question of how the SP gets from their account to mine.

My guess was that they're using their own systems, not something generally available. I mean, they're blocktrades. Moving cryptomonies from place to place is what they do.

Congratulations @sonatagreen! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67363.69
ETH 3247.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66