In The Spirit Of Christmas...

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I want to offer a reward to four people who participate in a little challenge.

I do not have much, but what I do have I owe to my followers as much as to myself. Consider this a thank you for your support and for the insightful conversations that I have had with many of you on my posts.

The goal of this challenge is to find and share, or perhaps even develop on your own, a powerful quote which is about treating your fellow man with compassion and generosity.

I hope that through this exercise we will all be able to learn a lesson or two. I also ask that you try to embody the messages contained in these quotes, and retain that same mindset towards humanity into the new year. I shall most certainly do the same.

I am about to go and be with family, and won't be actively posting again until boxing day. I will check back on Christmas and choose the best quotes and transfer a small reward to them.

Prizes
50 STEEM for the best quote.
10 STEEM for three runners up.

Before I leave I would also like to share a powerful quote that would be useful to keep in mind over the holidays. I heard this a while back and it came to mind when reading this thoughtful post from @thecryptofiend.

“A kind gesture can reach a wound that only compassion can heal.”

We ought to remember that not everyone has someone to share Christmas with, and for those it can be a very difficult time. An act of kindness from a stranger can literally save a life, or at the very least make the holiday season more easily endurable.

Comment below with your quote, and have a wonderful Christmas, Steemians

Sort:  

thank you so much. merry Christmas, and may you have a prosperous new year.

"one of the sanest, surest, and most generous joys of life comes from being happy over the good fortune of others." Robert Heinlein

"Creating and cultivating good will takes effort and lasts a lifetime, destroying it takes but an instant."

:) - I guess not exactly cheerful... I'll think about it some more. I am on the old "Creating a thing takes effort, destroying things does not" type of mood at the moment. Wondering why society so admires people destroying things when it takes so much more work and skill to actually create things.

@dwinblood: "every act of creation is first an act of destruction" - Pablo Picasso

I disagree with Picasso. :)

EDIT: Also I didn't know I was supposed to FIND someone elses quote. I thought the goal was to write our own. :)

The goal is to be free and do as you please....and I disagreed with it too at first.
That is, until I allowed my mind to open into the Myriad of infinite universes of which I know nothing.

There is always more that we don't know than what we do.

Yeah I don't see that as destruction.

Then you don't understand the meaning of the quote. Im not saying the meaning is 100 % true, but there is a meaning there.

Then you don't understand the meaning of the quote.

That is completely possible. Things left to interpretation often go many different directions.

Then you don't understand the meaning of the quote.

I also do not see Transformation and Destruction to be the same thing. ;)

But it is if you look at it a certain way. Im just saying; its worth putting some thought into.

As the course in miracles declares " nothing real can be threatened, nothing unreal exists."

That which can be threatened is merely an illusion.

As such, its destruction is only as real as the perception of it. In a way, destruction and creation can be seen as the same driving force. If nothing were ever destroyed, how could anything new be created?

I would say that transformation and destruction are in a sense the same: does the phoenix not burn to ashes before transforming into a more beautiful version of itself?

"Projecting a positive attitude is like a wave of influence upon those that you encounter."

Great quote! I just stumbled across this one:

“Being generous often consists of simply extending a hand. That’s hard to do if you are grasping tightly to your righteousness, your belief system, your superiority, your assumptions about others, your definition of normal.”
— Patti Digh, Life is a Verb: 37 Days to Wake Up, Be Mindful, and Live Intentionally

Definitely something I try to live by...I fail miserably every day, but I'm human.

"The best gift you can offer to the world, is your full, undivided awareness and positive presence. The light that is inside you can liberate the darkness is another."

“Doing nothing for others is the undoing of ourselves.”
― Horace Mann

I did not know I was supposed to provide quotes by other people. I thought the goal was to generate my own. Here is one I like a lot that I didn't write.
He who is certain he knows the ending of things when he is only beginning them is either extremely wise or extremely foolish; no matter which is true, he is certainly an unhappy man, for he has put a knife in the heart of wonder.” - Tad Williams, Dragonbone Throne

"A proud man is always looking down on things and people, and of course if you're always looking down you can't see anything above you."

~C.S Lewis ~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64008.01
ETH 3308.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93