Why Steemit is Different and more polite than ANY OTHER social media out there...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

blessingcurse.jpg

One thing that I have noticed in the brief time I have been interacting with people in the Steem Community is this: How wonderfully polite and friendly everybody is. Now that I understand the incentive system, I can see why that is the case. In every other part of the internet, being a jerk costs you nothing. Trolling is done because it rewards bad behavior with attention, even if the attention is negative. Social Psychologists know this about human beings... that if a human being (particularly children) don't get any or enough positive attention, they will act out to get attention that is horrible... because any attention is better than no attention at all.

The one thing Steemit proves about the new economy we are all going to be living with soon is that attention and time are the biggest commodities. When you look at the way Steemit works, you can see that some people can spend inordinate amounts of time upvoting and commenting and replying... and all of that work can be wiped out with just one flag or downvote by somebody who has a higher reputation/more steem i.e. a whale or witness. The whales and witnesses got to where they are by either investing time and attention and/or money into the steemit community/platform.

In other parts of the internet there is absolutely no downside to pissing people off just to get a reaction i.e. TROLLING... Now while I see a LOT of spam from new users desperate to get some upvotes and attention, I don't see a lot of trolling. This makes Steemit a remarkable place.

Today I reached 45 on the reputation scale. I did that by paying attention to people who I see were delivering content that I personally found very interesting. I fear I may never be a whale because my interests are kind of a niche market. Nonetheless, I'm doing something correctly on here because I've attracted 360+ followers in the past 3 weeks. At first I was just following everybody who posted anything even remotely interesting... but then I saw what that was doing to my feed. It was filling it with spam and junk posts. So now my strategy has been to weed out the junk and spam.

Steemit is fascinating to me because it is actually monetizing the human connection. It's making it profitable for people to try and understand one another and connect with each other. That makes it rare, unique and beautiful in my book.

Anyways, thosee are just my thoughts on the subject... I was prompted to make this post after thinking about what @techwriter said about it earlier this evening.

Sort:  

I’d argue that one can still troll but they’ve got to be a little more witty and subtle about it.

Also, one thing that I like about Steemit is that the average user actually likes to write something; if somebody wants to start an argument (or even a civilised debate), you won’t be arguing with an idiot (most of the time). Whereas as on Facebook, ever since they let those without an academic email address join, it has been full of the most illiterate and stupid people that one could possibly imagine. As we all know, idiots like that can’t be reasoned with.

Another thing that I particularly like is that due to the fact that Steemit is not well suited to one line/sentence posts, responses usually have to be a little more substantial than throwing excessively simplistic insults; whether it be the N-bomb or excessively homophobic stuff from those idiots on the right, or the overused and often misused ‘racist!’ And ‘bigot!’ from the idiots on the left. Also, those that like to report people when losing an argument have no such place to run to; Steemit seems to be quite tolerant of free speech as long as no illegal content is posted.

Agreed... and I also believe Steemit is a free speech zone... with the exception being of illegal content. It's one of the reasons I have doubled down on it. Miss you Buffers! Haven't seen you for a week. Where did you go?

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Not related to the article above but I was wondering if you post using an iPhone.

If you download the esteem app, every so often it'll automatically upvote your post by about 20 cents. When the price of steem is up it can reach 50 to 60 cents a vote

Hi Andrew... no I post using a laptop computer I bought 3 years ago... So far, I have escaped iphone culture... but I do admit it's getting hard and harder every day to do so. But thanks for this, I will keep it in mind. AND thanks so much for all your upvotes today! HUGS AND KISSES.

There's an esteem for computers as well, my brother uses it on his laptop but I haven't tried it.

No worries, I'm trying to get as many First Nations people on here so it's part of my plan. I've added you to my automatic steemvoter account... it'll be low right now as I'm down to 30 percent but should be back up in a couple of days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50