Why I joined Steemit? and you should too!

in #steemit7 years ago

steemit-share.png

As a long time Cryptocurrency enthusiast, entrepreneur and technologist I've been searching for usable blockchain technology that can impact everyday life. You see I'm a believer that the blockchain can enhance everyday life and provide new and innovative ways to solve real world problems. I'm not a developer or a program myself so my involvement with digital assets like Bitcoin and Steem has been limited to investments I've been fortunate to make thanks to the advise of others.

So What excites me about the Steemit Platform?
I'm stoked to find a blockchain platform that is usable by all users regardless of experience in technology. SteemIt is the second Blockchain technology I can recommend to friends. The first being exchanges such as Coinbase to make investments in digital currencies. In addition it is all about building a community on top of the blockchain and rewarding those involved and participate. I love that you actually have a say based on the underlying blockchain technology that's using Proof-of-Stake to accomplish this. Time for me to SteemUp!

How I found out about SteemIt?
A good friend from work @robrigo has been talking about Steem and his involvement in the community for a long time and how interesting the Steemit platform, Steem blockchain and the underlying digital assets Steem and Steem Dollars are. I am grateful for good friends that provide amazing advice.

What to expect from me on Steem?
My goal in participating in Steemit is to help connect everyday people like myself to Steemit through my personal network to help promote the broader concept of BlockChain. What's nice about Steemit is people don't have to know the underlying technology in order to use Steemit, similar to what AOL was to the internet in the 90's. This is how we can start getting mass blockchain adoption. I will be sharing my Steemit posts on other social media platforms including LinkedIn, Facebook and Twitter which should help drive awareness of the Steemit Community and other BlockChain projects.

Most my digital content is on LinkedIn and Facebook. I tend to post about High Growth Management, Technology, Business and Cryptocurrency Investments. Please be critical and correct me as I am always learning and prefer people tell me when I'm not correct. It gives the opportunity for us to learn together. Expect a few posts a week from me.

I'll apologize now for my comparison of Steemit to AOL that some hatters might find shitty. I wish I could insert the audio tone of the dial-up modem.

Cheers,
Unicode Snowman

Sort:  

Hi welcome @snowmen88 sounds like you've got a lot to add here!

I'm hopeful I can bring a different viewpoint and content to help. Usability is key and I hear there is a redesign in the works. Already have some constructive feedback that would help drive adoption. I'll post about that soon.

I'm already here, do you research man :p

Hi and welcome !!

Nice article!!

Blockchain technology is not new, but 90% doesn't even know that similar things exists. We are the early adopters and it's our responsibility to guide others but also to check and double-check the block-chain providers.

Take a look to Steemit Whitepaper. I think you will fall in love

Cheers

Digital Player

Thanks for the guidance. I will take the time to read the SteemIt whitePaper!

Quick tip, the economics in the whitepaper are pretty out of date. You can read @steemitblog for some updates regarding the changes; specifically in HF 18 where the token emission rate was reduced drastically.

Glad to have you here Snowman. We share a similar perspective on usability. People don't necessarily need to know or care about what the underlying technology is doing on a technical level... it's all about finding "new and innovative ways to solve real world problems"!

Agree... I never used a taxi before Uber or started in a stranger's house before Airbnb. They made it stupid simple and safe.

Had to laugh about your audio tone dial-up modem dilemma ;-)
Apology accepted ;-)

Is there a way to insert video or audio to a post?

you can embed youtube videos which can take care of both ;-)
In general you will find answers to all questions at https://www.asksteem.com

Nice write up and intro!

You've reiterated one of my favorite things about Steem(it), its ability to obfuscate the fact that you're actually interacting with a Blockchain! Non-technical folks just think that this is some kind of magical social media platform that just so happens to be crazy enough to dole out money indiscriminately, haha. But in reality, there's a hell of a lot more absolutely mind-blowing tech going on under the hood that helps this chug along.

I hope you're here to stay! I look forward to your future contributions.

Wow! Nice Post to share! :)
please continue posting interesting post like this..
btw I just upvoted your post and also followed u
Can you please follow me back?
please

thanks for the post.

Thanks for your post.. welcome.
I'm also new here.. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82