Questions to Ask Yourself When Writing a Steemit Article

in #steemit6 years ago

read-3355287_1280.jpg

We all know there is a lot of bad writing on steemit. Not everyone is a professional writer. Not everyone HAS to be a professional writer. (For example, I think @diabolika is a captivating, intense writer, but she really only started writing when she joined steemit.) But lured by the promise of quick cryptocurrency riches, many non-writers start writing garbage. They usually then get disappointed when their dreams are unfulfilled, they make 30 cents an article if that, and then quit.

Yes, we know there are a lot of top Steemit money-makers who can't write for shit. Oftentimes they got in from the ground floor, made connections, or had a lot of capital. But if you're a minnow starting at the bottom, the best way to get noticed is by creating great content.

So when you're writing a Steemit article, ask yourself:

  • Does anyone give a fuck about what I'm writing about? Why should they?
  • Do I find what I'm writing to be an intriguing and interesting topic? If not, then why should anyone else?
  • Is my unique perspective on this topic valuable? What do I bring to the table on Steemit that nobody else does?
  • Am I knowledgeable on this topic? More so than the average steemit user?
  • Is the point of this article clear? Do I spend a long time rambling or do I get straight to the point?
  • Would this Steemit article be good even without the pictures?
  • Do I support my ideas with examples, or am I talking in abstractions? People enjoy stories. They like characters to connect to, even if you're writing an advice article. Characters and conflict will allow readers to sink further into the article, as it gives them an emotional anchor point to care about what you're writing.
  • Is my writing unique and colorful? Or is it dry and more suited to something you'd submit in a Comp 101 class?
  • Is my style unique? Or am I indistinguishable from the thousands of other Steemit articles?
  • Do I really believe in what I'm writing or am I just trying to make a quick buck?
  • Have I steered away from the main point? If so, get back on track.
  • Have I thoroughly done my research, if this isn't a diary or piece of creative writing?
  • Have I truly put time and effort into this piece, or is it something I just tossed out hoping nobody would notice? (We can tell the difference.)
  • Am I writing in a saturated topic category? If so, is it because it's something I'm truly passionate about or because I think it's going to make me money? And if it's because you're passionate, what unique perspective do you have on cryptocurrency/travel/steemit/photography/vlogging that other's don't?
  • Have I checked this article for correct grammar and spelling? (I use Grammarly to catch basic mistakes)
  • Is this article something I'm okay with being on the Internet forever? (Thanks to the Steemit blockchain)

You can find me on my website, twitter, and Facebook. You can also buy my books here

Sort:  

The most frustrating "pieces" I find are the ones where I open it and it's just a link to go somewhere else. I don't want people to share links I can find elsewhere. I want to see content they've actually created.

Totally agree. I know making your own content is hard, but damn, I think a sincere and passionate effort to create content that may not be at a professional level can still get you great results on Steemit.

Good thoughts, and if no one is interested in the things you are most passionate about do you know how to hook them?

Tell them why they should be interested in it. Show how it relates to them or the potential benefits.
If you're a macrobiologist, explain how macrobiology effects even the minutiae of everyone's life.
Use analogy, metaphor, and story to connect them with human interest. If you think nobody cares about miniature skateboard esports, then explain why it matters to you and why you do it. Give them a character to root for.
Also if it's a complex topic, break it down to its most simple components. Some of the most popular scientists aren't the best scientists, necessarily, but the ones that are the best at taking complex concepts and making them digestible for the every day person.

Hi,
I agree with you, we should have our unique style of writing. I use Grammarly too, it is very useful. Cheers

Hi @snowmachine, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Join us on Thursdays for Pimp Your Post Thursday at 11am EDT or 7PM EDT in the Steemit Ramble Discord or:

If you’d like to nominate someone’s post just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord. If I use the post, you earn a portion of the rewards.

Thanks for the mention!

Great advice for the minnows.

Great information, especially for newbies like me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57956.22
ETH 3126.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45