Down Vote

in #steemit6 years ago

Yesterday I commented a post where the creator was a victim of systematicaly downvoting.

I had never problems with that and didn't knew you can downvote at all...
Today I see, that a user called "fiveart" started downvoting a lot of my posts, so that they disapear and all earning are gone:

The user is a newbie created the account on December 17 and only has 25 reputation...

But has a lot of Steempower...

I always hoped to get noticed by a wale but not in this way ;-)

Is there any kind of protection or other ways to get around this?

Sort:  

dont worry bout it, ill be sure to upvote you more now :D

You are welcome

As a newbie myself, I was wondering about this issue as well...

I thought about people with a lot of money just buying STEEM Power and therefore having an strong impact on the voting and reward distribution mechanism - without creating quality content. Doesn't it work that way, that the more SteemPower one has, the more curation reward he gets (if he curates posts)?

Maybe it's just me, but won't get wealthy users more rewards than others and thus gaining even more power?

Thats the point. the more you have, the more you will get... There should be a way to regulate this in form of a voting cap or anything else. But if the big ones only getting even bigger the system will get a problem.
I don't buy power and only got 1.5 STEEM Power in two weeks. Now about 1 STEEM Power is gone buy downvoting, thats a big inpact.
Wish you good luck with your posts!

Yes, seeing the same problem! But I don't think a voting cap would be a valid solution because that would only delay your loss (and wow that is a lot!).

I am sure there is the same voting power mechanism for downvotes as there is for upvotes but maybe the impact of a downvote should be a fixed amount or at least way lighter with every next downvote...

Anyway, we'll see! Thanks and keep us updated ;)

It's ok if content is hidden by too many downvotes but I don't think that earnings should be affected by that.

There are a lot of variety of people here on steemit. There are whales, dolphins and minnows. If one of these people don't like your post, most likely you'll be thrown out of the water. I guess we have to look and see deeper and study deeply why our posts are being downvoted. We can't please everybody. Everyone has its own likes and dislikes. Sometimes we miss something. Every post has its category where the post should be posted, maybe you put the wrong category, If I'm not mistaken.

There's downvoting because someone doesn't like your content or it's in the wrong category, but I think the OP is talking about systematic retaliation where you make some comment supporting a user who is getting bullied and then have every single post you make downvoted by a bot farm for an indefinite period of time. Fear of retaliation along these lines has been keeping me out of these discussions. I don't know if there's a way to be involved in anti-bullying/anti-abuse on steemit if you're a minnow. It seems like you need a whale on your side.

Yep.
A lot to learn on steemit. There are many bots out there. Just ride on and don't lose balance. Be watchful in words and be kind as much as possible.

This really bothers me as well. I would love to get more involved in discussions about making steemit less vulnerable to being abused by large accounts, but I fear retaliation and don't want to dump my life savings into powering up my account so I can weather the downvotes. I don't know what a good solution is for minnows, but I would love to hear some ideas.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64807.94
ETH 3507.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37