You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Proposing Steem Equality 0.19.0 as the Next Fork

in #steemit6 years ago

I agree with most of this, but recall as I'm sure you are aware that none of this stuff would exist at all were it not for the crypto circle jerk. Maybe someday someone will build an application (could be you) which transcends it, but for now about 99% of the hundreds of billions in market cap that drives the building of blockchain anything is all a product of the crypto circle jerk.

Which is why I frequently caution people (for example complaining about too much crypto content on here), unless you actually have a model to reach a profoundly new market (which Steem/it does not), do not forget which side your bread is buttered.

Sort:  

(A)greed.

I think we can give a better product to wide-eyed crypto evangelists. Fulfilling more of their idealism while also being pragmatic. While still catering to those who only care about speculative gains. Remove the deleterious game theory that makes Steem disheartening for the idealists and sincere. And broaden the onboarding ark.

Chris Dixon wrote:

Encarta was a far better product, with better topic coverage and higher accuracy. But Wikipedia improved at a much faster rate, because it had an active community of volunteer contributors who were attracted to its decentralized, community-governed ethos. By 2005, Wikipedia was the most popular reference site on the internet. Encarta was shut down in 2009.

I postulated today that cryptocurrency is a fundamental change and the masses are coming onboard in time. It’s not just bubble, although above $30+k or so (probably north of $50k in Q1 2019) we’ll likely experience another crypto winter.

Maybe someday someone will build an application (could be you) which transcends it, but for now about 99% of the hundreds of billions in market cap that drives the building of blockchain anything is all a product of the crypto circle jerk.

We need that speculation to drive the onboarding landrush. That’s an essential ingredient. I’m onboard with the crypto speculation. I want to experiment with structuring in a design that has some meat & potatoes backing it up.

I’ll quote Chris Dixon again:

In the case of cryptonetworks, there are multiple, compounding feedback loops involving developers of the core protocol, developers of complementary cryptonetworks, developers of 3rd party applications, and service providers who operate the network. These feedback loops are further amplified by the incentives of the associated token, which — as we’ve seen with Bitcoin and Ethereum — can supercharge the rate at which crypto communities develop […]

P.S. I don’t know if I can do it. Primarily because I’m not young and my health prognosis is uncertain. I’m trying. I certainly won’t be able to if I can’t delegate. Working long hours instead of being in the sun and exercising is very harsh on this liver of mine that still have cysts. It’s a tradeoff. Do I go for my goal and possibly induce cancer? Or do I back-off from my goal.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62639.70
ETH 2439.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64