You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thinking Out The Box: Curation Rewards

in #steemit7 years ago

Other people have suggested quite enthusiastically changing the reward structure from 75% authors 25% Curators to a 50/50 model. The way it was back in the day.

That won't work though. It will just make the problem worse.

Hey could you please tell me why this will make things worse?

In my opinion this 50/50 option will make abuse of the reward pool less likely be cause it gives people more reason to upvote others.

  • When selfvoting at 75/25 reward is 100, when this is changed to 50/50 the reward is still 100 while selfvoting, but voting for others is now more likely to occur.
Sort:  

There is a problem right now with curation and votes being thrown at popular authors instead of new talent or lesser known people who have been here longer. The problem is essentially that curators look for the highest return possible. So they don't go looking for new authors in the main. They look at who is successful and pile on before our round the fifteen minute mark to get a share of the pie.

Why vote on someone who could potentially get a good reward when you can vote on someone who is guaranteed to romp in a hundred dollars a post kind of thing.

I used to be a huge fan of curation. I just don't think that currently it works and think that making it more profitable in its current form will only make it worse. But hey, that's just my opinion. I mean, I used to eat chillis for lolz :0D

I just still believe most people want to give as much as they want to take. To do this now means one has to selfvote about 5 times a day to achieve 50/50 split in rewards... holding

Steem has to have meaning, I mean why holding Steem if it gives us no reward?

Btw in 6 months it happend only once that my curation reward on a post was higher than 25% of my upvote. So I guess if 'they' just want the best return out there they don't vote for others at all...

For lolz, holy moly, I cant handle even 1 tiny bit, you're the man! ;-)

I think it would still have meaning as the amount of SP you hold directly affects how much you can reward others and of course how much your own self vote is worth. Your reward would be right there :0)

Either I am the man or just plain stupid lolz!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57483.55
ETH 3066.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29