Why Steemit sucks. And why it doesn't have to!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit6 years ago

Have you ever watched a kid hard at work on something they love? It can be an amazing sight. They are diligent, focused, and relaxed. I know I used to be this way when I would work on computers. However, what happens when you offer that kid a major reward for his work for a long time? His work ethic always diminishes. In psychology, this is called overcompensation. In Steemit this is called poor content. What makes me say this? Visit Reddit, Twitter, Instagram, or any other social media platform, and try saying that there isn't a huge difference in the quality of content.
I'm aware that some of you might disagree with me on this, but I'll prove to you how lacking Steemit is with just a few simple images. Reddit.PNG
All of these are topics related to things that interest people, they are top ranked because of the support they garnered by their quality and thougth.
steemit.PNG
4 of these are about Steemit. Now, I understand everyone on Steemit is interested in Steemit, but if nearly 70% of Reddit's front page was about Reddit, do you think it would be as popular as it is today? Secondly, 1/3 of these posts I know are written by people who seem to think they are still in Freshman Lit from high school. They seem forced and lacking in substance. The third one is about how we shouldn't judge the whales for their desire to make a profit (BTW he's a whale), and how we all need to be happy with sitting at no rewards for our effort. The 6th one is about lessons from movies. Need I say more. Do you think this would naturally make it to the top page of Reddit? Or trending on Twitter? They didn't take time to think of, post, or create, yet these people not only make it to the top, but they make money off of it. So why don't more people turn up on Steemit? Because they know it isn't worth it when the whales can hold themselves up top. How could this be fixed? Quit focusing on the money, and start focusing on you passion. If Steemit is your passion, then write about it like it is, not like it's some 5th grade paper you were forced to do for homework. If you like photography, share your amazing photos. This will help Steemit to grow faster.
Another argument I see on here is, Steemit wasn't made for creators, it was made for those into Crypto. Then where is all the dialogue about crypto? Why is it all I see is people posting long write ups about this coin or that and not actually saying anything? "Crypto is going to go ____ this year and then it's going to go _____ this year because that is what I think because my thoughts formed in my head (after watching or reading that article on ____)" is not dialogue. Dialogue is, "I think crypto might hit an upswing because of this change or that new market. I don't know if I'm explaining this great, but I feel like it's always useles information that was put together solely hoping for a quick penny, and this doesn't benefit anyone.
I'm sure I missed more problems, which sucks, because I want Steemit to be a succes. I think something like Steemit is a great idea. Good content creators should be awarded for making good content. However, in the current situation, whales reward themselves for garbage content. And the only way to change this is to post about the stuff you enjoy instead of the stuff you don't care about.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64411.29
ETH 3516.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55