Steemit, Busy, Related Discords and all...

in #steemit6 years ago

content.png

Many people join these platforms and are under the misconception that they are going to be an instant success and make all kinds of money. They think that by writing useless dribble, and following those who have "made it" here already, they are going to hold on to their "coat tails" and have a free ride. GUESS WHAT? It ain't going to fucking happen.

SaveTheWhales.jpg

First, many of those who did come before you have established themselves through useful and good content, and besides that, they have joined others that have risen up with them along the journey. They tend to follow each other, and most times don't let many into their little clique. Then I must say, when I joined this platform, I didn't expect anything different from happening. I've been online in many platforms, and almost all of them follow the same format.

When many join these types of platforms, they seek out those who have become a success, such as Jerry Banfield... that motherfucker is bat shit crazy... he reminds me of Charlie Manson, just without all the killing. Hey, if you followed him, it's alright, so did I! I have since unfollowed him...

profile_picture.png
This guy reminds me of the dude from Subway, Jarod, we all know what he was up to... all I have to say about that

Since I have joined here, I have joined many communities, and attended many Discord broadcasts... they have been a complete disappointment. Like all platforms, like i stated above, they have their little cliques, and trying to get into those is very hard, unless you have some cause they can relate to, or you have a writing ability that is above most. I don't, and never profess to have it.

One thing that I must say is simply this, if you have joined a community, a discord or whatever, in hopes of getting more exposure, and increasing your popularity, you dayum well better have a cause or some other credentials, because when they say, "Support your fellow members", what they mean is we will support only those who have something we may be able to get more publicity from", other than that, you are usually on your own.

I actually gave up my support to many, mainly because most of those causes they have don't interest me. I think when we are told to help support a platform, that should work both ways, unfortunately it doesn't. It seems that many have their own agenda, and honestly, I wouldn't have expected anything different when I signed on to here.
So, do I think following certain people is useless, YES!, but, that being said, if you have joined ANY platform in the hopes of quitting your job and living off of "your writing", go get yourself tested.
If they say, it's all about community... It Isn't! It is about who has already been baptized into their community, and outsiders beware... you have a small chance... but a very small one.

My advice, whether you want it or not, if you enjoy writing,and you have some good posts, keep on writing, keep on posting, you may not become rich, but if you truly enjoy writing, the money is only a bonus... the writing is the true reward. Good content is in the readers eyes, not everybody enjoys the same thing!

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63252.26
ETH 2662.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79