What Do You Think About Silver?

in #steemit7 years ago

I am thinking of using all my profits recently (last 5 days) on some silver. Bill 1241 or whatever has me freaking out. 5-10 years in jail for having crypto, not something im trying to even deal with.

Should i buy 10oz of silver?
If you think its a good idea let me konw, ill prolly do it even if you think its stupid. lol

If and when i do ill take screen shots of it all and post them as 1. a record of it all and 2. so you all can see how easy (or hard) it is to buy silver with your steemit earnings.

Cheers steemit and cant wait to hear what you think as some of you are in the silver game and i respect your understanding of the market.


Sort:  

Silver is a long-term investment so it probably won't make you rich unless there is a financial crisis, but everyone should have some.

Back in Roman times a 10th of an ounce was one days wages so if we end up using it as a currency the 10 ounces could get you out of 4 months of hard labor or 4 months of scrubbing the radiation off the elite.

Edit:
If you decide to buy some I would stick with one ounce rounds close to spot price also JM Bullion is a PM dealer that will accept Bitcoins, I have used them before.

yeah, im not expecting to get rich off it, more as a store of value and cause i think it will be fun to hold a silver bar for the first time even if it is only 10oz.
:D
I messed up when transfering the bitcoins and they will only let me pay the balance owed by way of creditcard so tomorrow i need to get a prepaid card. then 4 days later i should have it and ill be posting picts.

oh wow, ima think about that 4 months while holding the bar when i get it. lol

Did you use JM Bullion?

I had 50 troy ounces of silver , in 2001 I sold them for 8 dollars a piece . I don't know what an ounce is at this very second , but I would get quite a bit more than 400 bucks. Precious metals always a good idea to have. 😊

It's a slow grow but sometimes gets huge . I sold at the exact wrong time and if it's 12 per oz that's a pretty good time to buy . There another metal I've been watching for awhile "scandium" used in electronics and computers , I've never bought any just like the stats lol .

when it was around 13 bucks a year or 2 ago i was freaking out casueit was below the cost to mine it. im thinking more as a store of value (money) insted of something that will drastically jump in the near future.
pluss holding a 10oz bar of silver sounds like it would feel smexy. lol
ima look that metal up, i never heard of it before.

its like 15bucks+ an oz.
10oz bar is 171usd in bitcoin with shipping included.
got 230 in bittrex from the last week so thinking i might buy.

I have a little junk silver, just for SHTF, if fiat goes to hell, and can't get any barter/work.

I think silver is way undervalued, like gold, the market is heavily stomped on. I don't know when that manipulation will end, so it's utterly guesswork to say 'it's gonna moon on such and such a date'.

It's a handheld store of wealth that everyone will value no matter what the economy does. Gold too, except I can't afford gold LOL.

So, it's a hedge, and a SHTF backup.

I reckon if crypto continues to be free of regulation and control by banksters, it's gonna follow BTC to the moon, so I'm only holding enough coin to feed myself for a week or so.

Ideally, I'd hold more. But NOT in 10 oz. bars, but in 1 oz. increments. If you have a couple hundred oz. then larger bars makes sense.

Anyway, I don't think silver is gonna plummet in value. I just don't see it mooning like cryptos are in the process of. As a hedge it makes good sense, for SHTF.

Do what makes you happy, and be happy you did it, no matter what the markets do.

And, you'll be happy =)

haha i couldnt agree with you more.
im not expecting it to go to the moon but as a store of value no matter if its shtf or not it should be worth around the same (im hoping). lol
Plus i just wanna hold a silver bar for the first time.
xD

Back in the day I used Ebay to buy gold coins, which I could, by careful bidding, get delivered to my door for less than the spot price of paper gold. It is difficult to relate the excitement of holding something in your hand that has represented riches since prehistory.

I also used to buy semi-precious gems, and would give my kids little pouches of topaz, tormaline, etc., now and then. It was something I was surprised how much they liked.

It is actually kind of addicting. You may need a 1 step program to recover after the need becomes irresistible. The only necessary step is: stop! - but only if you are actually having a problem.

I wanna see a pic of you with your treasure!

i cant wait to touch it. lol

Gems i could see as a cool gift, anything has to be better then a mc donalds gift card.
lol

Believe me when i get it there will be picts.
:D ima be showing it off like crazy for a day or 2.
then it gets burried in the backyard with the guns, bullets, and the non parishable foods.
lol

It's always good to diversify, don't keep all your eggs in one basket. Hide the it in a safe place (don't trust bank safe deposit boxes).

I agree. it will get hidden well, like burried somewhere in the backyard. lol
:D

I didn't think you'd scare off so easily ;)
I see more use for silver than gold

not scarde off just more trying to diversifiy.
Also im excited to hold a silver bar and pretend im a rich guy.
xD

If you plan on taking profits on your Steam no matter what, then yeah I'd buy silver. As we try to build up steemit it would be wise to probably reinvest. However, silver has been on sale for years now. In my opinion is still a good buy because it's way undervalued. Even with the recent up tic from $15 range to $16 and change due to the recent fed hike. I'm not a Speculator I do not buy paper silver, I only buy the real thing and I'm in it for the long haul. however I'm not naive, i know that there are other viable means of accumulating wealth. That's why I'm on here.
It just so happens silver is my favorite. 😊
Good luck with your project I'm curious to see how it turns out!

I just like the idea of holding a silver bar and i think its safe to say its a stable way to store value.
i could be wrong though.
lol
I messed up bigtime with the buying and stuff. when paying with bitcoin if you have a balance that needs to be paid you cant pay in bitcoin. lol i messed up in the math of transfer fees and stuff and now have 16bucks i owe. lol
bout to run to the store in a bit and grab a prepaid card to pay the balance off with.
jmbullion has an awesome support team even if they cant take bitcoin as payment for me messing up. lol
should have it done tonight im hoping.
thanks for the input and stuff.
:D

Do it !!
Check out the #steemsilvergold tag too.
I've recently started buying a little bit of silver and aside from bars, there are some beautiful coins you can buy. I bought my first pieces of silver using steem from @raybrockman which was even better because to me it was like getting it for free !!

Warning - Once you start stacking silver, you might become hooked.
Check out some of the coins on here
https://goldsilver.be/en/146-coins

neat ill check the sites out.
i can think of alot of things worse to get hooked on, addicted to stacking silver doesnt sound like a problem to me. lol

I actually just bought my first 10oz off the man @raybrockman!

Thats awesome. Someone else has mentioned them to me.
How did it feel to hold 10oz of silver in your hand?
:D

Fantastic! Also heavier than I imagined!

LOL
i cant wait to expierence that.
:D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59476.67
ETH 2299.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48