You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Phil, this is Phil. It's a pleasure to meet you, Phil.

in #steemit7 years ago

I'm guessing you'd meet more than a little resistance to that idea. The concept of tracking collector coins using a blockchain app crosses a very big line for collectors who wish to remain private.

If I owned 1000 oz of gold and silver, the last thing I would want is to have it advertised worldwide on some blockchain complete with all of my contact information.

I can guarantee you I would not be purchasing a coin or set of coins that had tracking capabilities.

Nice idea, I just don't see it getting traction with this particular community.

Sort:  

Good feedback. I'm new to the concept of stacking, so there's always a risk of leaving some bruised toes on the dance floor :)
This would be completely opt-in.
The guys in the mint would ask if you'd like your coins to be tracked on the blockchain; if you don't want that, you say 'No'.
If, down the track, you sell a coin to someone who does want to be the registered owner on the blockchain, he can ask the mint to assign the coin to him, bypassing you completely.
In that case, as best I can tell, the only way the tracking will have affected you is to drive up the value of your coins.
Quick Edit: It might be less confronting if we refer to them as 'claimable' rather than 'trackable'.
The owner, and only the owner, could publicly claim to own the coins.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60607.86
ETH 2620.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52