Sort:  

Isn't it sad that these criticisms still apply 8 months later?

They're still messing with payouts - and have in fact made things worse - while the site design/function remains horrible. And they even have a lot more money now, thanks to the price increase that was not at all related to anything that they've done.

Troubling indeed. And other problems that are far more likely to kill us than payout tweaks and repairs. Like getting Napster/Limewire/Piratebayed over IP violations by users and the problem with not being able to block a user. A powerful rageflagger for example, has destroyed hundreds of dollars worth of my post value and that of others, because we flagged his 38 content-less stolen pron posts as a group, and then he loaded more funds, made an alt and went on a rampage. He flags every one of my posts now and some of my minnow-ey friends, because we are too new and little to fight back. Costs me a lot. Costs steemit even more, when we all leave and warn people someday.

So... with so many issues, and top staffers all banked, do they care anymore since they got theirs enough already? Or in your old-timer's opinion, did they ever care? Or are they just not very good at this software making stuff?

I spent the last few years as the Director of Technology for a multi-million dollar social networking app before semi-retiring, moving off grid and relaunching my own fairly successful software company. I've seen the risks we face, and we are not mitigating them at ALL.

This, my good Sir, terrifies ME!

Or in your old-timer's opinion, did they ever care?

Well, not long ago, they said that they were only interested in making the Steemit.com interface "just good enough" and had no plans to improve the design/functionality to any kind of social media standard. STINC's intentions are to sit back and let other people design a better social media platform.

And in conjunction with that, they have only managed to constantly change the economics/incentives/rules of the blockchain - often in large bundles of changes - and have no actual marketing plan for either the blockchain or the flagship site, as far as I can tell.

Meanwhile, they sit on millions of dollars. So, whether they care or not appears to be obvious to me. But what do I know? I've only been pointing out the same problems with this place since last fall...and almost none of them are ever acknowledged, let alone adequately addressed.

I did consider this to be maybe just an MVP example, and the whole, leave it to other beaver's aspect, and well, I can't say that's entirely a bad idea. BUT if that is the idea, than they need a marketing site to SELL that idea instead of a half assed example that nobody quite can pin down as a moving target.

And the rest of it? Yeah, I suppose if I already had "my lambo" I would probably be at the beach too.

But they left a lot of holes that can sink this ship behind them.

I always find this scenario peculiar. People reach a point in software app companies where 80% "good enough" has occurred and the principles have gotten a taste of cash, and then shoot themselves in the foot, when they should recognize that a little extra additional 20% more effort would 10-100X that stack and buy them the whole dodgamm Lambo dealership.

But Kermit the Frog sippin' Tea, you know? I'm just a tiny minnow with big dreams.

Seems nothing has changed in the last nine months.

Not a damn thing. Imagine that. 2016,2017 and 2018 roadmaps standing dead still. Funny to see my total noob remarks though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62869.05
ETH 2545.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72