I got a couple of questions about Steemit if you don't mind...

in #steemit7 years ago

I have a saying, its better to ask question, then play mister wiseguy...

And please forgive my ignorance, if those questions been asked before.
So i could search for the answers, with the chance that not everyone is asking the same questions,
Or i open a posts about it, and guess what i did?

So my first question series, is about reputation:
What is the reputation for?
How do you gain reputation?
Can anyone also be demoted? ( just to know where our line is )

About Votes, what to me is still a weird phenomenon, what almost look like it got a life on his own.
Is there a way, that anyone can influence the amount of the reward what they get of voting?
What if an organization or a group of 1000 people join steem, and who vote on each other, would they have some influence on the payouts?
Not that i have something like that in my mind, but what if organized groups are joining, who will spam making posts and got the amount of members to vote on each other.
Would that be something that would lower the value or rise even more?

Ok now as last, about the earning and payouts.
Is there a way, that anyone, can create some kind of influence on the amount of the reward of his voting?

Look dont get me wrong, i am just thinking about 3 or 4 steps a head.
And i know that sooner or later, will Steemit go viral.
What would lead to many money makers wants to join Steem, and yes there are already money makers here, but i don't mean them.
So i dont talk about them, because there is nothing wrong with making money.

And those organized groups are also out there, and maybe on this moment , they did not discover Steemit yet.
But i think sooner or later they will discover it, and if they join with 100 or 1000 people, who will spam useless posts to get votes from his mates.
Would the value of Steemit go down or go up if someone like this happened?

Thanks for reading and cheers!

Sort:  

Rep: click here
Voting: click here

I could write what i know but its better to let the professional handle that. The links above should help anyone new understand a little better.

I've just read the links to your response, @nicnas. Thank you. Regarding upvotes and downvotes, during my very first month on this platform, I was maliciously flagged down by @matrixdweller for having a different opinion. It was not a case of abuse. Just because he had a higher reputation than I did. I just checked his profile now his reputation is -13 . Not quite a week after that I was again flagged down by some group of people again from God knows where, and that action of theirs reduced my reputation by 1 or 2. I was very sad. By now the reputation I've been working hard to build would have been 56 instead of my current 54. That is a clear case of injustice. It took me another month to recover. My point is that, unfortunately, there are some malicious people who would flag you down not for the sake of abuse, but because of difference in opinion. So take care.

I learned a lot from Craig-Grant's youtube channel. He has been around a while. Beware of the advertising posts but his videos on steemit are really cool to learn from.

I follow Craig-Grant too. I wouldn't be wrong if I call him my mentor in the steemit ecosystem. Another person whom I follow to watch his videos and learn from is crypto.

I have only been here for a couple weeks now. I think i learned pretty fast. Its takes a lot of practice and research i think more than anything. Best thing to do is listen and watch what the guys at the top do.

A very warm welcome to steemit, @nicnas. It is evident that you learn fast judging from the kind of questions you ask. I think you are right that best thing to do is listen and watch what the guys at the top do. Personally, I don't stop at that. I do a lot of reading, research. I like to seek and find knowledge from far and wide regarding issues which are of interest to me.

Your doing pretty well yourself. 54 rep is good. Keep it up. We just keep supporting each other and make some money.

Thanks. I'm just doing my best. Yes, we just have to keep supporting each other. Making money will always happen when we meet the needs of others. Sincerely, I appreciate your encouragement.

I love his flow @maryfavour. :-)

Thank you for the comment nicnac!!
Il follow you!

"What if an organization or a group of 1000 people join steem, and who vote on each other, would they have some influence on the payouts?" that would be interesting @sinzzer

On your second question: I believe that the amount of influence that a vote has decreases after you've voted more than 40 times a day (at least that was the case several months ago according to several high profile Steemit members. And though there is nothing to stop thousands of members joining a non-quality based upvoting group who upvote in exchange for upvotes, the fact remains that the value of your upvotes is a measure of your steem power, which is earned through the value you put forth on the site. As to why a hundred or a thousand people who already have established blogs that provide real value (and which receive profit in return) would need or want to be part of a group I don't know.

I was however lucky enough to be part of a channel on Rocket.chat in which members posted and upvoted each others work in a quality based setting (which was definitely a boost given that it was quality based, and we were therefore engaged in a secondary form of curation, I believe.) - I hope this clarifies your second question @sinzzer - and if anyone happens to know that it isn't 40 upvotes a day before voting power diminishes please correct me!

Thank you for the response, it look like more people have these qeustions.
And am glad out fellow Steemians answerd some of them, like you.
But what is the Rocket.chat channel?
Is that a group who support each other?

Your voting power is based on three factors:

  • The amount of Steem Power that you have
  • The timing of your vote
  • The frequency of your votes

I don't know the exact formulas for each. I know even less about how reputation works. I just know that it is a measure of how active you are in steemit. The more you upvote and get upvotes, the more it will go up.

So my advice to you is to simply be a good community member, and paymets will come. Post intersting stuff, upvote what you real like and always power up your steem. You are invited to read this post of mine for some more perspective.

Thank your for the response, it was an eye opener.
And i just readed and upvoted your post.
Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62153.21
ETH 2411.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64