You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Idea for transitioning social media whales...

in #steemit8 years ago

When I first heard about Steemit from my fellow YouTubers, I admit I was impressed and even begun making a video on it. However, upon the research I was doing for the videos content, I learned some disappointing facts about how the pay structure has more to do with WHO upvotes your stories rather than how many users upvote them or the quality of the stories users on here write and the value it provides. Most users devote hours writing great content and are lucky to make a dime!

So I personally am testing this platform under a different handle without revealing my YouTube name and brand. I want to see what my subscribers will experience and whether I want roughly 750,000 subscribers to learn about this platform from me. If I know it's a fair system for them, then fine, I will gladly bring them over. However, I could never be content in knowing that I was responsible for potentially hundreds of thousands of people have a bad experience on here, spending hours on end writing content that they will never be fairly compensated for.

We shall see.

Sort:  

Hey sinclair, that's pretty interesting.

Personally I wish I had a social media following, because I think I'd make more money on here than I would through ads. But who knows. Would be fun to try anyways.

The "who" upvotes your post mattering is a necessary evil I think, because otherwise everybody would just create dummy accounts to upvote themselves. So it would quickly become meaningless. So the solution is to measure it by amount of Steem Power rather than amount of accounts voting on it.

You could always just tell people what you know. If you tell them how it works, as best as you understand it, I don't really see what the problem would be.

Rewards are pretty inconsistent right now .. Either you have to get lucky with whale votes, or be one of the people with established followings who is a safe bet to curate. So I know what you mean. I think it will improve over time, as more people join, and the "middle class" expands (and as various improvements are made). But in the meantime I don't think you'd be hurting people at all, as long as you're realistic about what to expect and how it works.

The average person without large followings shouldn't really expect to make a bunch of money at social media. So that shouldn't really be the pitch. But they can support your videos and contribute in the comments and occasionally make a buck more than they would on YouTube hehe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66565.59
ETH 3503.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72