You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STEEMIT is the best teacher in the world!

in #steemit7 years ago

By the way, the fiction you write of which you know no one will ever see it, there’s a big chance it is your best work. It might be a big loss for other people if you hide them from the world... But I do inderstand that you don’t want to expose your precious stories to a world of people that thrive on critisism,,,

Sort:  

So thanks for the motivational support!

I'm glad I could help :D

Yes, I have a feeling 'Sleeping Beauties' is a very feminist, socially aware (o whatever) book...and I just don't think that it's worth exchanging that really amazing, creative fiction of his to prove some tired social point.
I haven't bought it, myself. Don't know if I will. I made the mistake of getting excited for his son's, Joe Hill, book "Strange Weather" and it proved to be a collection of stories about racism, feminism, guns and all that...and he used to write such good horror stories before. Frightening.
But no, there's no one like him.

By the way, the fiction you write of which you know no one will ever see it, there’s a big chance it is your best work.

Possibly...I don't know if it's so much about fear or criticism, although that is very possible. I don't know...I've been trying to build up the courage to share some of that here, too. Maybe I will, soon.
By the way, I really appreciate this comment. It's so encouraging. Thank you.

You too
One last thing about Joe Hill. I read ‘Blind’ without knowing he was ‘the son of’. The first part really stunned me, I really thought I found someone who would be able to live up to King. But the ending was a little disappointing, if I remember correctly. I didn’t read any other books he wrote, but now I might go looking for his old stuff :-)

Blind? What's that? I mean, from what I know, he's written four novels - Heart Shaped Box; Horns; The Fireman; NOS4A2 - and I can't find 'Blind' among his short stories? Please enlighten me.
As a side note, his books are pretty good - I really enjoyed 'The Fireman', which is kinda like 'The Stand', but also different.
I think my favorite is 'NOS4A2', though.

I assume it was 'heart shaped box'. I searched only one website to find out how the book was called in English. A little silly of me, I should have double-checked ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54150.70
ETH 2268.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27