Day Of The Triffids... Ehm... Hard Fork 21.

in #steemit5 years ago

Today is D-Day... Hard Fork 21 will take place just a couple of hours from now. I'm definitely not ready for it. Are you?

day of the hard fork.png
Source

These last couple of weeks, a whole lot has been written about the upcoming Hard Fork 21. Everyone has been waiting for this day, no matter whether they think the hard fork will be a good or a bad thing.

I have read quite a lot about it, but can't say I get all of it. That curve, for example, is still a big mystery to me.

I guess it will all become more clear during the next couple of weeks, so I'll be patiently waiting on the sideline and watch it all unfold. No drastic changes on my end... yet.

I don't have a lot to say about it...


Earlier today, the movie title 'Day Of The Triffids' just popped up in my head, and I thought it would be perfect for the occasion, lol.

If you haven't seen it... please do. It's one of those cult-SF/horror movies any lover of the genre simply nééds to watch. It must have been awesome back in 1962, and it's awesome in a complete different way today.

Triffids are tall, carnivorous, mobile plants capable of aggressive and seemingly intelligent behaviour, which arrived on Earth as spores from a meteor shower. They move about the countryside by "walking" on their roots, appear to be able to communicate with each other, and possess a deadly whip-like poisonous sting that enables them to kill their victims and feed on the corpses.
Source


Anyway, if you want to get some more info on Hard Fork 21 before disaster strikes (let's hope we don't get locked out like when HF20 happened), here are some interesting post you could read.

As always, we can count on @justineh when it comes to explaining all these technicalities in layman's terms. Thanks a lot for that, @justineh!

In her post 'Normie Talk - HF21 Explained (SPS + EIP) What it is and what happens next', she goes over all aspects of the hard fork, so you know what all the fuzz is about.

A couple of hours ago, she published 'Let's Fork // HF21- What To Expect', in which she explains what all of it will mean for the average user.

Personally, I think both posts are a must-read for everyone.

If you have a more technical developed brain than I do, I guess you can just go about anywhere to read up on HF21. For me... it ends with those 2, lol. All other ones are way over my head.

I'm patiently waiting for a post from @abh12345 or @paulag that will guide me further along the way - no pressure guys ;0)


Keep Steemin', and remember... if you get locked out of SteemIt because of the fork, you can always spend some time spooning ;0)


Source

See you in the afterlife!!



signature2.gif

Graphic created with The Logo Creator Software

Subscribe To RSS Feed | Subscribe To Newsletter



Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png



SteemTerminalBanner.jpg

iSupportHHYM.gif


Sort:  

Hahaha, ready as I'll ever be! Have a great day. But those cute cuddly kittens!❤

Hi @simplymike, as a MAPX token-holder you just got an upvote.

This message is to introduce our latest MAXUV vote bond. It is able to deliver up to 200% vote weight at 0.1% per token per post per day. MAXUV is also open-ended so can scale with increasing users. Please read the launch post and the promotions leading up to HF21. Have a fine day!
[promo dates: 17-27 Aug]

Lol Do I think these changes will make a whole lot of difference? not really perhaps a little but not what we would like that's for sure. It's playing around with the math and once the dust settles, certain behaviours may change and then we will get back to doing our thing.

It really only papers over the cracks. I think the SPS could bring some value if we can start adding some value-generating development or marketing but that ill reserve for when its live and put into practice.

I'm really waiting for SMT's and RC delegation so I can perhaps start on integrating steem into some ideas I would like to launch soon so lets put this one behind us and on to the next

lets put this one behind us and on to the next

The quicker, the better :0)

I'm looking forward to RC delegation too. These last couple of months, I've been spending a lot of SP to help out newbies. I never really minded, though. But RC delegation would make doing so even more interesting.

I don't understand enough of the technicalities to have a real opinion about HF21. From what I get, I take that there won't change a lot for me personally, since I have enough SP. Newcomers, however.... :0(

Explain to me like I’m a 5 year old
Hahaha
I read Justine’s too to make sense of it
Well to a certain degree

I too wait and hope that things will turn around for the better
See you on the other side 😊

Well to a certain degree

Same goes for me, lol
I'll just wait for Asher to take my hand and show me the way 😊

Thanks for those links! Going to read them now!

See you on the other side!

See you on the flip side! 😊

Congratulations @simplymike! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 30000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 31000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I'm just here for the movie, haha! That looks like a good one for Mystery Science Theater 3000 to spoof. Did you ever see that show? My dad and I used to watch it. Some really funny ones in the mix. Perfect humor for a day when everyone is a little on edge. Though I'm just trying to find some time to get my latest garden post up... ;)

Never heard of it.... will look it up instantly.

Meanwhile, some Triffids 4 u (set to begin at a funny part)

I think our favorite episode was the Horrors of Spider Island. 😜

Hahaha, from the looks of it, Toxie would fit in just fine too

Oh my gosh, hilarious! I remember the character, but don't think I ever watched the movie. Definitely some good comic relief, haha!

Toxie is the best.
I like all Troma movies... they're so bad it's so funny again.

I used to have a friend who owned a video rental store with only B-movies/cult movies. I literally spent months of my life watching crap... and loving it 😂

Im going to drain my VP to celebrate the HF21 😂 so, in case I'd be locked up from steemit.. it will recharge by time 😆

LOL looks like someone learned from the last HF

That's all I know 😂😂😂 so i will just try my luck

hahaha, that might not be such a bad idea...

From hard forking to hard spooning. I prefer HS21 lol!

This is really getting out of hand now though haha. How many HF posts have there been 😂 we'll just wait and see how it goes over the next 2 weeks whilst there's a bit of furore over post payouts dropping and noone loading up on steem power to get the extra curation.

There you go - Havey's Fork right there ☝️😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Wait... was this your idea of a fork??

nickyhavey.jpg
Click to enlarge

Haha hang on, those ads are on your side so what have you been looking at there young lady? Keep your forks to yourself 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

It's not called hard for nothing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63135.01
ETH 2546.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64