You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Community Feature - Is that the big surprise?

in #steemit7 years ago

This will a very interesting feature!! But say if people start creating restricted communities, doesn't it become more difficult for newcomers to post and wouldn't it decrease their chances of getting views further?

Sort:  

restricted communities would be like closed groups that wants to prevent spam. For example, if someone want to write about STEM, maybe that community would require someone to prove they have a background in STEM in order to post under it? Maybe it something like @zappl, where you don't want microblogging to fill other people's feed. There are many reasons why we would want that feature.

I see. I think i get it now!!

Cheers!!

"For example, if you are able to create a thriving community of webdev, the owner of it could be able to make a % of the rewards on it."

This is the exact thing that killed tsu.

Everything was fine and then the groups came. All of the sudden there were a million groups and the main feed of the place died. Unless you wanted to be in this or that clique - you were DOA. I do photography and all of the sudden a lot of my friends went into a flower photo group. I don't do flowers much so I was out of that group and out of those friends.

It was a night and day change as soon as the groups got there. So many people left so fast! If you did not want to join a group or 10 - you were out of luck. I'd say the change was effective in one week and 30% of the non-groupies were gone in a couple of months after that. There was just no point in staying if there is no one there to talk to.

Groups add a new level of complexity and I wish and hope and pray someone is working to make it easier for new people to enter. If instead the "entrance" to steemit is a turned into more of a low-paying, dead place you have to learn - and then - after you learn, you can join groups - no one will make it. New people will not even try.

Another factor is that now webdev and stem etc are gone for the little people. We will not even be able to look at it with interest - it will be a rarified world somewhere else. I would be the kind of person to join all groups that will have me but most people won't.

I know you need groups here, but monetizing them makes them way too attractive for the bigs and mediums and all the niches to congregate. At tsu there was a whole complex thing about which groups you wanted to follow in a feed. I never learned it or joined a group.

Here I will stay until they pry the Alexa ranking out of my cold dead hands though. Nothing else matters to me as long as my posts rank which they have been doing.

I don't know if there are enough active people to split them up like this. Everyone should be working to grow the place outwardly not constrict it inside.

Tweet more steemit posts! Get more people before heading off. Use your hashtags to find your people in a more subtle manner. I feel negative on this group idea for now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34