Steem Price Report 18/02/2017steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemian so many seem worried about the price today 18/02/2017 as the value of steem rocketed down again earlier today after apparently somebody getting cold feet.

Current STEEM Price 18/02/2017
woodbgwidlogctp18022017.jpg

Anyway just so you know this post is %100 SP and for more of this I need you guys to do me 2 easy things.

1.First please upvote if you liked this page.
2.And secondly dont forget to follow me below.

Also since votes don't always = $ and you if want to see more you can send me Steem Power Tips to @simonjay to help support me.




HELP ME POWER UP!




[Follow Me Here @simonjay]

Sort:  

Appreciate the reporting.

Since I'm fairly new, can you tell me what the general long-term outlook is? It seems from the whitepaper that the expectation is for STEEM prices to always be slowly falling. Is this how the community thinks, or is there optimism that the STEEM price will become a long term holding asset?

Good question, first yes the white paper is now out of date but still a great source for information if new as it gives you a general idea. In general steemit is still in beta and in its early days, it as been said this low price was actually already expected and that the real value would come much later in about 6 years time. I cant obviously speak for the whole community but in general most people have already given up or are waiting to come back once the price goes up again. But there are still many of us here who strongly believe this will turn itself around and when it does we will be here more then ready.

I think the available white paper is outdated and does not show major changes that were made in December to the inflation rate of the currency. It is much lower now, so if investment increases, Steem price can definitely stabilize and increase.
Occurring alongside the decrease in inflation, the period to divest Steempower holdings also greatly decreased from 2 years to only 3 months. Some folks feel we're experiencing the initial sell off of early investors who began divesting in early December when the 3 month option became available. If this is true and the selling alleviates a bit, it could also be positive.

Thanks for the clarification. I feel like the whitepaper is one of the only obvious sources of information for newbies like me. It sucks that it might be outdated and misinforming me about the underlying systems.

In terms of the 3 month sell-off, wouldn't it be somewhat spread out since the powering down happens over time? Or did I misunderstand that part too?

Since I am a member it's never been different. It's an up and down ride but I keep on powering up

I got here just as the period was ending when people were getting thousands per post, so annoyed I missed that but its not put me off steemit and think one day it might get back to +$4 regardless even if it just reaches $1 in value I would be very happy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62014.91
ETH 2410.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50