An Introduction To Self Defence For The Ladies Of Steemit.

in #steemit7 years ago

This one is for the ladies!! Well ladies and anybody else wanting to empower themselves with some confidence. Today's world is a very different place than it was 20, 10 or even 5 years ago. The news is filled with scenes of violence and terror, people are agitated and it seems some people are just plain bonkers! 

In such unpredictable times we all need to feel a sense of peace and confidence when out and about in the real world. I think there is a need for all women to get some basic self defence knowledge and skills behind them. I hope to help share some hints, tips and techniques aimed towards self defence and how to act in some situations you may find yourself in ….. although I hope you don't! 

This video is my first attempt at a video specifically for steemit, so please be kind and go easy on me! It is an introduction into some of the things you should be thinking about as you go about your daily life, and some hints on what to do and where to attack back, when confronted with a confrontational situation.

I will include some videos on specific techniques in the future that will be very simple and easy to remember. Also I will enlist the help of a female assistant (you know who you are) to help demonstrate the techniques and show them in action.

Please enjoy the video and if you have anybody that could benefit from some self defence knowledge please share this post with them. 

Stay safe out there!

Sort:  

Awesome as usual. You have done really well for your very first video, congrats!! I agree, being aware is number one skill. As a woman, I am always using my Peripheral vision, developing this, is a great advantage. As you say, reading a situation, and getting well away is your number one defense. If anyone who is stopping to "catch the action" on their cell phone ??? STUPID (sorry). Looking forward to your demo's @silvernova, thanks for bringing this to peoples attention. I will repost.

Thankyou @madein-hisimage for your support on this post. I think you are actually the only female to watch it and reply. I hope you learn't a few tricks, although I know you study martial arts as it is, so hopefully you didn't need the hints, but you might benefit from some techniques in later posts. I am glad to hear you have been developing your peripheral vision, that is definetly a must have skill! Thankyou again, stay tuned for more in the future!

women worldwide should be allowed to carry cold weapon of choice, and to receive free training until they master it.

poof!

no more physical disadvantage!

Cheers!
my lady always carry ak47 bayonette with double blade in her purse. she can remove cyst from liver with it, while texting her bestie with other hand.

I'm picturing something like this: gun purse.jpg

Hahaha, I definetly need to get myself one of those purse size ak's! That would definitely even up the odds.

hahah you are big guy, get bigger purse!

Ha Nice call! As it is my car boot is full of weapons for when I train out and about, I probably don't need to add a huge purse in there as well.

I'll take note of your advices. It's always helpful to have some tools.
In my experience, the times I've been in danger, guns involved, I wasn't able to react at all, I didn't even realize what was going on, beacause I never expected, walking on the street just like any other day, that they were gonna rob me.
Anyway, I think I could use this in other kind of dangerous situations, more of body contact.

There is not much more advice to give regarding guns. Awareness is even more important in countries where guns are a problem, to not find yourself in that situation. I would not recommend trying to disarm somebody if you have not put in the practise or training to develop the right muscle memory. It can be done if the gun is very close to you, but if you are getting robbed at gun point then the best defence is to hand over what they want and to play along. Sorry but I would hate to tell someone without training to try something against an armed offender, it will probably not end well.
I am from a country where guns are not easily available, pistols are extremely rare. Our police do not even carry guns. In a confrontation here in New Zealand you are more likely to be stabbed or bashed. Most of these self defensce techniques for begginers will involve hand to hand. Again, unless you know what you are doing and very confident, I would not recommend trying to disarm a gunman. I might post a video later on pistol disarms, but would hate somebody to try disarming someone over a wallet getting stolen, ending up with a bullet to the face.

Great Video - and Great Advice-
Active self protection channel on youtube always talks about being aware of your surroundings - the videos are worth watch-
Thank you for posting@silvernova

Thanks @blackrussian , glad you agreed with some of the advice. The hardest part is trying to make awareness a subconscious action instead of trying to actively do it, takes practise but is a great skill.
I will try and check their channel out. Thanks.

I love kungfu..

Haha me too!!

You received a 3.00 Upvote from @worldclassplayer

STEEM ON

Your article has been re-steemed and upvoted by @steemhelper , great article! Keep up writing quality content like this.
do you also want to get your great content resteemed if it is good enough? Check the link below:
https://steemit.com/whale/@steemhelper/introducing-worlds-first-re-steem-whale-how-can-it-benefit-the-steemit-community-how-can-steemians-profit-from-it
Please recommend this initiative to your friends.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60678.52
ETH 2339.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48