You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HF19: Who's Building a Following and Who's Relying on Whale Votes?

in #steemit7 years ago

I've been creating quality content on youtube for the past 4 years and didn't really get a "break" on viewership despite many people saying they really appreciated the quality I was putting into it. I've gotten discouraged lately, but steemit is starting to give me some new hope that maybe hard work and quality is rewarded, especially with this new change. I just want to create great videos and not have to rely on gimmick to attract viewership. Am I asking for too much?

Sort:  

Building community is hard. It's not just about putting out content to no followers. Engaging, building relationships, commenting to add value to other people's posts... it takes time. Good luck!

That is very true. I have built a modest following on youtube by engaging, its just that beating the impersonal algorithm that only measures time spent on videos and can't measure quality reliably is frustrating. I saw myself decreasing animations/ motion graphics so I wouldn't so much time doing the videos. I feel that steemit has a potential to be more intelligent in rewarding quality content, so it makes me motivated to invest more time here. In youtube you have to work so much for so long for so little that its weighs down on you, especially if you don't want to go the sensationalist route.

I am with you on that, @siloe! With the YouTube algorithm favoring channels that post every day, I've seen channels move to the 'talking heads' format, full of chit-chat, instead of more complex content with real information. My videos take long enough for me to make - I can only imagine how much longer your animation requires!

Yes. that is why I had to cut production value begrudgingly. Your channel is one of the few that has relevant concise information that is actually unique, that is why I appreciate what you have to say. I thought that quality would speak for itself. And while that is still a bit true, it is not the driving force behind growth there (which may be actually harmful for youtube long-term)

Thanks for the kind words, @siloe! Just like Steemit, the YouTube/Google ecosystem is complicated. They've had to undo some of their choices, like with the G+ accounts. So I'm hopeful YouTube will notice and make changes in their algorithm, especially if people are watching less because video quality has dropped with everyone rushing to post every day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65133.17
ETH 3480.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52