Is Steemit Really The Ultimate Cure for Writer's Block?

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Aloha,

It's been a while since I made a post here on Steemit, not because I didn't want to but I simply didn't have the motivation too. However, if there's one thing that motivates me to get writing it's the level of success that can be achieved here.

*Pineapple on my dashboard in Kauai*

However, I don't know about you but when I write it has to be authentic. It has to be pure, it can't be for money, it has to come from my fucking soul. And quite honestly, sometimes that process takes time, it's not something you can force but if you practice it, it can become a regular thing, and more importantly a HABIT.

On top of that I can't tell you how many posts I've read from other Steemit users saying "Steemit got me writing again". You don't typically hear people saying that, I guess people hold on to writers block like some incurable disease who knows.

But my point is that I've done all sorts of shit in my life to try and get the creative juices flowing from messing with my sleep schedule, drinking coffee, smoking weed, experimenting with different supplements and nootropics, doing weird workouts, meditating for hours on end but at the end of the day there's only one thing and one thing only that can get me off my ass and writing and that thing is called PASSION.

If I'm going to put my energy into anything there has to be some level of love for what I do otherwise it's just chasing some short-term thing for some menial and empty gain.

So, while I'm here writing on Steemit it's more about my own self-expression and my ability to convey to you what I'm feeling on the inside, I think the factor of getting paid damn good for it really just seals the deal for me.

As a web/marketing designer I've had my own personal brand out there before, I've built my own sophisticated blogs with email newsletters, e-commerce storefronts etc but at the end of the day Steemit is easier and a whole lot less expensive.

I just have to log on, tune into my inspiration and start writing. Usually that's pretty difficult for me at first, so I'll end up wasting some time on Facebook or checking the price of Steem, combing through email or any of the other many vices all of us have online that we use to prevent ourselves from actually having what we want.

That's all writer's block is really...Self-Sabotage.

So if we can take notice of that by simply being aware of our time wasting actions and instead just open up a notepad and start moving our fingers we'd all be a lot more happy and successful :)

The more we write the better we become at, the more we solidify this powerful tool as a lifetime discipline. And as my old friend Stuart Wilde once said "Power comes from Discipline"

So, don't worry about trying to reach the top of the Steemit newsfeed and don't try too hard period, just get started.

Of course do some basic things like tag your posts, upload a nice picture, and put some passion into your words and some depth into your content but other than that just go baby, go!

Aloha,

Jayson

p.s. And of course if you're really felling stuck, go outside in nature. As singer/songwriter Jack Johnson once said "The wisdoms in the trees not the glass windows".

enter image description here

#steemit #writing #blogging #steem #inspiration #motivation #success #quotes

Sort:  

A really honestly written article, thanks. I think thats something I need to work on, genuine passion always comes through.

YES mun.

When I sunk my teeth into Steemit, a whole other level of creative flow was activated. Once my subconscious mind grasped the incentivization piece, it wouldn't stop feeding me ideas to be written.

And the keys to my success so far (if you'd consider over $10k of Steem Dollars in a month) has been exactly what you've described:

  • Write for passion & self/expression with complete AUTHENTICITY

  • The discipline to just keep at it.

Of course, there are skills to develop along the way - but with commitment, success can happen FAST here if taking & implementing the excellent feedback the system & community offer... And it's just damn fun writing & sharing, too! :-)

And I am here ! ......all because of you ! 😘🤒 hehee !

Yeah, much to learn but I feel like it's a good idea to get a few of the basics down and then just start spitting out whatever flows to you. Obviously I got some work to do to get a few more posts ranks but at least I did something today :)

I sabotaged myself for many years but steemit healed me . I just write through sleepless nights 🙌 Very passionate and honest post I really liked a lot !

I needed to read a post like this..truly appreciate this post I been really thinking too hard about writing something too important or trying too hard to educate people on something. From this day point i'm just going to let it flow and how I feel when I do decide to blog something. Thanks much again!

@arcaneinfo You're welcome, I needed it myself. Glad you enjoyed it!

Cool to have you in our FB group " Wel love Steemit ". A really nice article upvoted.

Keep up the great work @silentpower!

Maybe you just need to have some inspiration and steemit gave it to you :)

Хорошая статья

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62904.98
ETH 3359.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46