THE DEVOLUTION OF WINDOWSsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit8 years ago

Windows stopped for me at 7. When the disaster that is Windows 10 was released, I updated the classic evolution of windows meme to include it. While it would have been more appropriate to use a picture of a stenching bucket of fetid manure with a massive leak in the bottom, I wanted to stick with the house theme, so I used a photo of a house that had collapsed.

Up until Windows 8 came out I used to help friends and family set up their computers from time to time. I’m certainly no geek, but I know how to do basic stuff like turning off the updates. I even wrote a webpage about Windows 7 - http://www.frot.co.nz/design/computing/windows-7/ - and if I say so myself, it’s quite a handy page that I still refer back to quite often.

All that has changed now, and if anyone asks me a computer question, the first thing I ask is “what operating system?” If the reply is anything other than Windows 7, they need to find themselves a real geek.

I once wrote a very basic page about Windows 8 that included the line “Don’t worry; I’m not going to do a page about Windows 8. That would be like trying to train goldfish to herd sheep. Microsoft has lost the plot, so here are a few random pictures and links” - http://www.frot.co.nz/design/computing/windows-8/

And for Windows 10 I wrote: “There is a line and Microsoft have crossed it with Windows 10 – I don’t plan to ever use it, which is why I have copied this information from another site rather than researching it for myself”
http://www.frot.co.nz/design/computing/windows-10/

And that is the end of the line for me with Microsoft. These days I still use Windows 7, along with Google Android. I have no plans to change, but if I had to modernise, it would be with Linux Mint.
http://www.frot.co.nz/design/computing/linux-mint/

So no more new spyware from Bill Gates, and I hope he gets busted for his vaccination crimes too.

I wouldn’t be all that surprised if a real Steemit geek comes up with a better operating system one day.

https://steemit.com/steemit-potential/@pakovia/introducing-steemit-os


SIFT666 aka Ian Gregson from Wellington, New Zealand, is a professional Microsoft code developer who is designing a new social media system based on Windows 8.1 that may eventually replace Facebook.

In between posting self pics of his six-pack abs on Google+ he is also planning to release a new website portal to rival Steemit called http://www.frot.co.nz where he is testing out a new feature called “refrotting” that may revolutionise blogging and overcome any need to produce new content.


Sort:  

Tell us how you really feel.

lol great post
ive also heard similar things about windows 10 havent tried it yet!

Hahaha, you got it right!

I held onto XP for as long as I could...Now I run 8, and hate it.

yeah switch to linux, the sooner the better. you won't regret it! don't believe the rumors, it will actually save you time, trust me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64118.79
ETH 3390.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51