I Take it Back — Haejin Isn’t ALL Bad — An Open Letter to @haejin, @starjuno, and @berniesanders

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

In my most recent post, I said that after I had taken part in flagging @haejin, I had been flagged multiple times by @starjuno. But since then, I have thought a bit about this whole flag war and removed my flags.

Here’s why.





@haejin had a lot of money, and he got in early with Steem. He has 400,000 SP delegated to his account, and @ranchorelaxo has over 1,000,000 SP, which allows him to self vote for 1200 USD per day in earnings, giving him a salary of 400,000 USD per year without even having to work. He is probably the first person ever to be able to make a living off of Steem.

I don’t think @haejin and @starjuno have bad intentions. They are just self-voting to use their wealth to make a profit. And how does that hurt us as a community? Sure, if they didn’t exist we would be better off, but there isn’t anything really bad about them self-voting.

And all this flagging? It was started by @berniesanders and his supporters. @haejin and @starjuno wouldn’t be flagging if they weren’t provoked.

The flag war isn’t getting us anywhere and is using up our focus as a community and destroying so many accounts. We should be working to solve the problems with minnows starting out on the platform and to fix the trending page, not fighting someone who just isn’t sharing their votes.

@mejustandrew wrote a comment on my previous post:

I would recommend against going and flagging @haejin or any other whale. It can be dangerous and with all the care that I have for you, I would encourage you to keep away from the fights as much as you can...

I know this sounds cowardly from me, but @berniesanders is powering down everything he has here, he won't be fighting anything and no big whale will go against @haejin right now, either from different principles or for not having the courage and minnows... I am afraid that all of the stake that minnows have, combined on this platform, won't make enough to even compare with what @haejin or rancho have these days. I really believe that there is no fight here, honestly.

What if we just left @haejin alone? He could self vote and do what he wants and no one would notice. We as a community could shift toward fixing the other problems with Steem.

And do we really have to settle this conflict by flagging each other to death? Steem is all about having conversations, talking not fighting. If @berniesanders doesn’t want to give up, he should at least try to talk to @haejin and try and negotiate. Maybe they could reach an agreement that @haejin would use one or two of his votes every day to promote quality content, or whatever is satisfying for both of them.

But we should stop flagging and going to war, and settle this dispute in a better way.

@berniesanders, @haejin, @starjuno, @ranchorelaxo, and @mejustandrew, I want you all to read this and tell me what you think. I would love to see differing opinions and a peaceful negotiation in the replies.

.

Thank you.

Sort:  

I've been consistent, if not anything else. My self upvotes are 100% done as a protective moat against the myriad of downvotes that come in day after day from the haters and trolls. I assure you, once they cease downvoting, my self votes will follow; allowing more votes to be contributed for better communal impact. Until then, my protective moat remains.

Then they should definitely stop downvoting you. They should give you a chance, and see what you do if they don’t flag. I see your point of view now, thank you.

Could you please ask @starjuno to remove his flags on me? It would save him voting power and help me out. I have removed all flags on you.

And what about your flagging of people who were disagreeing with your TA that you and starjuno endlessly flagged. I can understand you flagging me for my posts about not agreeing with how you treat rewards (although i do not agree i can understand why you want it hidden), but flagging for disagreeing about your TA, or even just research that suggests investing is risky. Really you think that justifies flagging and yet you are surprised people are flagging you?

Why don't you make the first move and stop self voting, and see if it stops. You still have your friends unfairly upvoting you anways, so for this system to be truly in balance you actually need to stop that as well. Sure you might miss out on a few rewards but they would have no need to flag you if you weren't pulling in $300-400 a post.

Then they should definitely stop downvoting you. They should give you a chance, and see what you do if they don’t flag. I see your point of view now, thank you.

I have removed all flags on you, and am not currently flagging anyone.

I am trying to take a neutral position on this debate, and now seem to be entwined in it.

I see both of your points of view, and am not sure what to do to help you two sort it out. With this post and comment, I am trying to say that I don’t want to be against either of you. Both sides have done some things badly, and if both sides could get over the struggles of the past and try to negotiate, this debate could be solved.

What if you declared a temporary truce, of 2 weeks? Stop flagging each other for 2 weeks and see what each other do. It’s works out for both of you, because if the other is not doing the right thing, you can have proof and show that your side is correct.

Just declare a temporary truce, or work it out together in some sort of chat room.

We need to see some negotiation and stop with all-out war.

@haejin, @starjuno, @nextgencrypto, @thecyclist, @ngc, @yougotflagged, @thedelegator, @steemservices, @berniesanders, @mejustandrew, @hitmeasap

I had a TRUCE with Berniesanders! The deviant then broke the truce after just two weeks!

Fool me once, Shame on You! There won't be a fool me twice event with him!

I really don’t know how this flag war will turn out, but if it keeps going on it will truly damage the Steem community. Everyone has to do their part to try and solve this problem.

I don’t know what happened with that truce, but I think both sides of this debate have something to learn from it.

Could you please ask @starjuno to remove his flags on me? It would save him voting power and help me out. I have removed all flags on you.

I will address this in a separate post as I will try to make it general and get as many people as I can. Thank you for asking my opinion!

Great! I’ll be looking out for it.

It is done, you can check it. I hope it gives a good alternative to all of this. It is actually the best which I can think of. Please tell me if you see a flaw in it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63131.59
ETH 2586.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78