Steemit - Online Busking & The Future Of Music

in #steemit8 years ago

Hey Steemers,

Every now and then over the past few years I've taken my guitar out onto the streets for a busk. I was earning about $60 an hour improvising with a friend or playing my own stuff on the sidewalk at the marketplaces; probably a setlist of ten or so songs at the time. 

Two nights ago I recorded ONE song on guitar for Steemit and received around $270 aud worth of Steem Dollars & Steem Power for it. 

I'm absolutely blown away, honestly... I can't thank those of you who voted enough! It gives me a lot more confidence in guitar to know that an audience all around the world enjoyed my song and voted me up for it. I've always wanted to make a living as a musician too and this is the first time I've really seen any sudden, significant progress in that direction. It's given me ideas about online busking & the future of music as well.

You've probably heard the saying, "A Musician is someone who loads $5000 worth of gear into a $500 car to drive 100 miles to a $50 gig." 

This can actually be pretty true for us a lot of the time. When it comes to making a living as a musician, most of the income for an artist comes from touring and merchandise. The whole process of doing that includes paying for those things upfront yourself, paying for fuel, driving to different locations, booking places to stay, hiring out venues, and finding the time to even do it all without having to drop the other half your life - family & work for example.

Steemit seems to fix this problem - Instead of busking, playing or promoting to a small crowd in a small town, Steemit allows me to busk on video at home, across the world stage. This will save so many musicians and people of other trades the hassle of having to deal with all that sort of nonsense, and may as well be the creative spark of a revolution for efficiency, data transferal and independent artists trying to get their music out there.

I'm so happy with how everything's turned out so far that I decided to record another original piece for all of you. It's called "Seed" and is a current work in progress. I'm looking to launch an album next year, may 22nd and will include an updated version of this song on it. Hope you enjoy!



Sort:  

Thank you for your music.
It s really awesome and gorgeous. I like your guitar sound.

Thankyou :)

Great stuff. I found myself singing along making up words on the fly with a Shinedown 'Simple Man' kind of vocal sound. Would love to collaborate if you had any interest. I have a hard rock / classic rock style vocal.

Thanks man, yea I love all the bluesy rock sort of stuff. Keen as, you can contact me on my YouTube channel. I'm 'steemyshred' on it.

What a time to frikken post!! just before steem goes down for two hours. Reprehensible! Lel

I noticed that, I was commenting and I couldn't. So I came back to it this morning.

Hello! I am @upvotes and I am here to help you get upvotes!

Just upvote this comment and your post automatically becomes an @upvotes candidate for: @local, @kids, and @people
Several times a day the most upvoted candidates become the Best of Category post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54290.46
ETH 2276.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31