Day 2 - Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago

Today I would like to talk about photography (with photos I shot personally), I'm not a professional photographer, its more of a hobby and I'm really passionate about it.

My father gave me a film camera when I was 13 years old, never taught me anything about using it except how to load a film, wasted a good few rolls of films before I knew what was happening. From there onward I never stopped shooting, it became a routine to always have my camera with me most of the time, and I learn that taking good photos does not necessary require a camera with shit load of megapixels, nor does it matter how big is the lens. (However the lens quality does matter though :P)

"The 2 most important things I look out for are lighting and composition"

DSC01146.jpg
Shot taken with a huge window on the right side of the frame

When shooting I take note where the light source is, and compose my subject accordingly. I rarely use flash because I suck at it! I can never produce the result a seasoned photographer would when it involves flash....

Position your subject to get the maximum effect of lighting, source of lighting does not necessary mean direct sunlight, it can be lights coming from a window or sunlight reflecting from a white wall.

DSC04053.jpg
Outdoor shot on a sunny day

I always fancy outdoor shots, especially when its sunny and clear, and with trees! lots of trees. The contrast makes your subject pop out more easily. I'm not going to talk about aperture and shutter speed, I am not qualified for that kind of discussion... and I might disturb the balance of the force if I say something wrong...

DSC07537.jpg
Composition with more foreground and the subject further

I like to experiment with different compositions, it gives the photo a much fresher look in my opinion. Try shooting from different angle, get down low to the ground, shoot from above, climb a tree or something.

DSC08017.jpg
This photo is composed in a way that the tree branches draw your attention to the subject

Lighting and composition, this is what I wanted to share about, to me it is important before pressing the shutter button. I hope this post can benefit my fellow Steemians who are new to the photography world, and to those who are pros I hope you find more inspirations.

Sort:  

really nice photography @shlimmm

Great post, very informative, thank you. @shlimmm

Good work, nice photos.

thanks for the tips, they're very useful for me since i only got recently into photography...great pics too, btw, you've got my follow :))

I got a bellyRub and this post has received a 3.33 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @bitrocker2020.

Composition and lighting.. love it. Will remember this all the time from now onwards

Congratulations @shlimmm! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Love the last picture! I need to use stuff to lead the eye more... :)

Thank you!!
You shoot awesome photos as well I saw

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by shlimmm from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58020.27
ETH 2464.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37