You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What am I missing?

in #steemit8 years ago

The value of your vote will change based on how much the post is worth.
For example:

  • If your vote is worth $.02 on a new post, it might be worth $.08 on a post already worth $10
  • It might be worth $.45 on a post worth $250
  • Several dollars on a post worth $1000s
Sort:  

What your saying sounds right.

However when I vote on any post I usually only contribute 0.01 and that site says my votes are worth 0.12

...my guess is that they're working off a wrong price feed, from steem before it crashed downward. They need to show what the current value of steem is that they are basing it on..

I definitely like that theory better than the one that says my vote value is somehow tied to the whales who also upvoted the post.

Really? So a site that tells me the value of my upvote would need to include the ability to enter other variable parameters. It also seems based on this info that the system favors whales in more ways than I'd realized. I mean, my upvote as a minnow can only have significant worth if a whale has already upvoted the post?

Based on my limited testing so far, that website is accurate for a post that is already worth about $10. If an article is worth less than that, your vote will be worth less than that website shows, and vice versa.

Minnows can have a significant impact in a couple of ways:

  • Votes from a handful of minnows can get a post to appear in the "hot" category; a place where whales often look for quality content. Get your post to appear in that category and it is far more likely to get a whale upvote.
  • Dolphin and whale bots look for minnows who consistently upvote popular content before it becomes popular. Bots will then follow these minnows' every moves and upvote content after the minnow upvotes it.

So how much Steem Power would you need to be able to take a post from zero to $10 with just your single upvote?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43