You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit's Got Issues! - Self and Circular Voting - Take 1

in #steemit6 years ago

Great and balanced perspectives and explanation on some of these issues / challenges etc on Steem.

There is no black and white - it's all a grey area. I havent selfvoted for a very long time - but then I also invested quite a bit of my own cash into the platform when I started - so it wouldn't be wrong of me to look for a return (my opinion of course).

I also do autovote among the communities Im in and I know that autovote is reciprocated in some cases. It does in fact make me want to write the best posts I can as I know I wouldn't want my autovotes to be wasted on rubbish. The people I autovote I have already established a relationship with on Steem and I know they write good content and I want to make sure they are rewarded. I regularly check in to make sure that's still the case :) I think in many of the smaller (ie less SP) voting circles ( at least in my experience) that's the way it seems to work.

Downvoting is an interesting one.. I see the value of having it - but I see a lot of abuse of it as people work their own agendas - and you are right - there's no rules against it so it comes down to how people feel ethically about their actions on steemit and we don't all have the same set of ethics / morals / beliefs and then whose to say what is wrong or right? (Deep questions for a Sunday morning lol!)

Thanks again for sharing your perspectives

Sort:  

Thanks Shelly!

It does leave the platform in a peculiar situation. Personally I lost thousands when I first started because of these bullies, having no idea self voting was even an issue for some.

The way many have used the downvoting thing is really an issue for me. Possibly a topic for discussion itself. The reason being that new and small users cannot defend themselves in anyway. If a whale wants to go against any rule/etiquette no minnow can even do anything about it but watch while a whale can see you upvote one of your own comments and thrash you silly. Very imbalanced.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98