Steemit Shirt and My Pancake Business

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemers,


Finally got my Steemit shirt!

I'm so happy to finally have my Steemit shirt (credits to the logo owner/designer)! @darthnava has one too, we will post our pic together soon. Right now I'm managing my mini pancake business. It's been up and running since January this year. It's called Sky's Mini Pancakes Station here in Cagayan de Oro City, Philippines, named after my only son: Skyler my inspiration.


My son, Skyler

My mini food kiosk

Checking the operations and a selfie! :)

I was inspired to launch a business because since I was in my elementary days I was already selling candies to my classmates. I don't know if my brother @darthnava remembered but I used his money for capital back then...hehe. During my early teaching days, I was selling homemade peanut butter, clothes, bags, shoes and other things to help augment my income. The salary of a new private school teacher wasn't that good so I engaged in sidelines. I also had a tutorial business but sad to say I sold my share to my partners and left it. So now after trying to find what works and focusing on the passion that I love which is FOOD, lol, I tried to open up a pancake business.

I love pancakes and I always struggle to find the perfect recipe. As I was browsing instagram last December of 2017, I was able to view a video clip about Thailand and their street food. I love street food and I was fascinated by Thailand's variety and creativity. I saw a food kiosk selling mini pancakes, and I was hooked. I was mesmerized seeing those mini pancakes while being cooked. I was busy with my main job back then and I planned and executed on my recipe during Christmas vacation. It was a struggle of trial and error and after so many wasted flours, eggs, sugar and milk, and a hundred failed pancake batter batches later, I was finally able to perfect one according to my liking. I am very meticulous when it comes to pancakes. I am such a worst critique in terms of taste, fluffiness, and texture. I have bought and sampled different pancake boxes and restaurants in my area and I can only name a few good ones.

I then opened up in January and I'm happy and thankful to say that it has been good so far and my customers love it. I offer four different kinds of syrups: buttercream, honey, chocolate and cream cheese. We rarely have maple syrup here and it's quite expensive so I substituted honey instead. Customers can sometimes combine their syrup if they want. Some may love it and some may find it weird but so far, cream cheese and honey works for most. I also plan to add more syrups as soon as my schedule permits me to. But for now, my main job delegated me to a tedious and draining task of assisting evacuees.

I'm the one making my batter to maintain quality. It's hard to delegate if you don't have an employee that you can be trusted yet. It is a task to wake up early and make my pancake batter but the results are worth it. I just relish seeing the smile of happy and satisfied customers with my product.

How we do it:


Cooking the pancakes on the griddle and pouring the sauce


Ready to sell these mini pancakes!


Serving the customer

So adding Steemit to my time isn't a chore but a joy to showcase my thoughts, work, poetry, photos , other stuff and my business. I got so excited when I wore my shirt and I love being able to share Steemit to my friends and customers. When I invite, I don't deliberately tell Steemit right then and there. I invoke curiosity and just let people ask me questions about it. Of course the more they ask, the more interested they're going to be. Slowly but surely as they say. I do hope we can invite more and finally launch Steemit as one of the biggest social media sites to date. So, steem on my friends, let's just have fun and share the ride together!

Follow me @shellany

Sort:  

Those pancakes look delicious !!!

I was about to say that :) Nice post @shellany ! Followed!

Thank you! 😊

Thanks, they are. Glad you appreciate my post. 😊

This is awesome. How do you manage to be a teacher and have the pancake business. Do you have employees at the station?

Yes I do, I have one crew. I think all or most women are good at multi-tasking so I can still manage the time. :)

Hi Shellany upvoted & now following ;) very innovative business model. I love that you stepped outside the box with you pancake idea. Blessings N Prosperity to you & love the shirt....

Thank you, a lot of research and analysis but it pulled through beautifully for me. I need to think of something unique because that's what people go for not just for the taste and affordability. :)

I wish that I could get 1..

Wish I could send a lot to you too, on the house. :)

Beautiful. Innovative and hardworking, keep it up.

Thank you for appreciating. :)

Very good business... including steemit! Happy together.. 😇😊😇

Thank you! Steemit did help alleviate the stress! :)

It must be the Filipino palate, because I love my pancakes with honey or cream cheese as well. 😁

True, we love a bit of sweetness and saltiness. :)

wow cool :D

Combining your small business with Steemit winning combo!

It is! Glad to be part of the platform! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64119.05
ETH 2765.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66