Tough Being A Minnow

in #steemit7 years ago

There is a lot of content on Steemit these days and it's easy to miss a very good article because you don't follow that particular person, or you don't get a chance to see the article because by the time it's been posted, within a minute or so it's way down on the list on the 'new' section. 

Tough Being A Minnow

It's difficult at times for us minnows to get our posts recognised because of the many members on this platform and to top it off, it's difficult to get our articles noticed because there is content loaded up almost every second of every day. Now that's a good complaint to have of course because we want to see this place explode with new accounts but it's also tricky at times for minnows to get noticed.

Whether you are a whale or a fellow minnow, I suggest we all take a look at the 'minnowsupport' or 'minnowsunite' tags and read up on content posted by us newbies because you will find some really good content written by some really good people.

I think we all have a responsibility to the community by helping all new minnows out as much as possible, the way we do over at the 'introduceyourself' section. 

The more we take a look at these sections then the more we can all grow together to help push this platform forward by keeping new users engaged, helping them with questions that they may have and giving advice on their posts. Even just a comment on something that you enjoyed reading can motivate a minnow to write more. A follow if you find some of their stuff interesting because we could all be here a very, very long time due to the huge potential this platform has. 

I'm not saying follow everyone because you don't want your feed clogged up with things that you are not interested in but if you find some minnows who like the same things as you do, then give them a follow and comment on their posts because it will motivate them to do better in future, which can only be a good thing for us all involved.

This goes out to everyone in the community though, there is some pretty interesting people on this platform and this is only the beginning. 

So Steem on Steemians!

The more accounts we can keep engaged, the more people we can attract over here, the more chance high profile people might be tempted to come across from platforms such as Facebook and YouTube, especially when they see the type of money that they can make on a simple post here compared to elsewhere, and then we will all notice the price of STEEM get higher and higher over time.....THEN I CAN BUY MY LAMBO!

If you enjoyed this piece then you know what to do....Upvote, comment, resteem & follow @SHEESHKABABAGE
Sort:  

Good luck on your lambo. I want one as well. I do agree, it's really tough to get noticed as a minnow, but we have to persevere and continue to publish quality content.

Exactly, to be honest I enjoy writing about stuff, anything in general, I never done it before I joined Steemit, and I remember back in school I kinda enjoyed it then too.
I'll be here for a long, long time anyways so here's to the future!...and my lambo! :P

That's exactly how I feel @howtostartablog ! I will keep on posting quality content however, and hopefully I will reach that point where I will have more STEEM POWER and really make a difference for the community.

You have my full support ! Good luck, all the best :)
STEEMIT Comment.png

Hmmmm you lost me

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by chaotica from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

I am minnows just joining today. No idea how to survive! Help!!!

Like i said in my comment below. Be yourself, share your energie and it will return ;) You have my support, too

Haha it can be quite difficult to get your head around things but if you keep with it, there are plenty of people willing to help you, there is still things that I need help with but slowly I am getting there as well.
There is a helpful section under the FAQ at the top right which can hopefully help you but if you don't find the answer to the question that you need then just write a post asking someone to help you out. Tag it with 'steemit' and things that are popular so that people will notice it.

My man, you have my best wishes for getting your lambo! Im sure, if you believe in the things, believe that will happen what you want. Dude, only do this and you will be fine, things will become true. Your Dreams will happen.

It's all about the together. Take the spirit, help the people around you and they will help you. Spread love and the love will take all over you. Take all of your energie and put in your environment!

I will follow you, and will stay updated. Maybe i wont comment that often, but you will see my comment... You will see it on the day you post some picture in your lambo my man. And dont forget, im @hereforawhile ;)

Have a great and successful day!!

Nice name my friend!
That's exactly what we need to do, believe in ourselves, and help each other to better ourselves on this platform because just as your name suggests we will be here for a while.
Thanks for commenting

Excellent comment; upvoted and followed! What you put out, comes back.

It's not the end of the road, just keep on posting and never give up. All you have to do is enjoy and when time comes you will reap what you sow.

I'll be here for a long time I think so it will be a long road, a very long, enjoyable road.

To the future fellow Steemian!

What a surprise! You've got 89.58 in just 7 votes. Amazing! I am happy for you. :)

Haha yeah thanks to the generous Whale! Whoever that was I OWE YOU A FEW PINTS MATE!

Thanks for commenting, appreciate it :)

Thanks for this, and love the cartoon image...lol. But how does one find a minnow with similar interests easily? The search feature seems like a websearch and not a post's subject / title / tag search.

I think if you go into sections like 'introduceyourself' at the right hand side, you will read up on peoples introduction posts and see what they like and just give them a comment, who knows, that could be the start of a beautiful relationship! :P
The section on the right hand side of your 'home' feed or 'new' feed or wherever you are, has a list of topics that people tag in their posts. For example - In this post I put down one of the tags as 'steem' which will show up on the 'steem' section.

Hope this made sense!?

Nice one @sheeshkababage
As a minnow, climbing the ladder is not easy.
Thanks for sharing this.. and Please do stay in touch.
.. Followed!

Thanks very much mcekworo!
Followed back mate!

I agree that it is hard to find new good content since it dissappears so quickly from the list of new posts. I like to check out users who comments on posts that I like. Thats how I found this post. I have not tried minnowsupport yet but see it alot and will check it out.

Yeah even commenting on peoples posts is a good one because they are obviously interested.
Check out minnowsupport because you get some good quality on it. You can join the group on discord to help you get people to like a particular post which might get you a few dollars out of it. Worth a bash mate!

Upvoted, followed, and resteemed!

Good luck on your Lambo, looks nice, angles like a diamond. :) My Mercedes CLK-550 convertible isn't quite as nice, and wasn't bought with crypto profits, but hopefully the next car will be!

Oh I hope you dont think this is my lambo haha it's a friend of mines. And every time i see that car it makes me more determined to be successful.
Here's to STEEM!

Now that's really cool -- not just a stock photo, but a friend's car, who might let you test drive it! :)

Yeah, I'm really enjoying this new platform, currently my third day here. Cheers!

Yeah he has 2 Lambo's. That one you see is the Aventador and the other he has is the Gallardo. He's getting rid of the Gallardo though, so we are doing some work to it for him because that's what I do for a living, run a vehicle body shop.
I doubt I would want to test drive it to be honest, only because I would be paranoid if I damaged it.

3rd day here, nice one. Well I'll give you a follow because I can quite clearly see you like cars and from time to time I post car related stuff up which you might be interested in.
Anything you are not sure of just let me know and I'll try to explain but even now there are things that I'm still learning. Overall though the community is ace!

Thanks and I agree, really enjoying these first three days here! People are nice and friendly, someone is helping me sign up for #minnowsupport and sent me the steem required to do so (need to get back to that!), and I just reached 30 followers! :)

Yeah I've owned several sports cars: Mustang convertible; Corvette; faster Corvette; newer Mustang convertible; 3000GT VR4 (mechanic special, lost a lot on that one!); older Mustang convertible totaled (while parked) by a local cop's son (so it wasn't in the papers); and currently the Mercedes CLK-550 -- fastest car I've owned, and it seats 4! :)

Thanks for the follow, onwards and upwards!

Yeah my thoughts exactly on the community, all good folk who want to help each other out. Once you are signed up for that then it helps get you some extra dollars and over time you will find your followers increase as well. Increase the followers first and don't focus too much on the money side of things just now. You want a follower base that appreciate your posts and upvote them (if they see them that is!)

You sure have had some nice cars my friend! My older brother's fave car is a Mustang....Pretty much any Mustang haha.

thanks for your post!motivating! will have a look at minnowsunite straight away! let's unite! Boom!

I'm glad you enjoyed it!
Have a look at my profile, I resteemed something after this post which explains how to register and setup with minnowsunite/minnowsupport and it can help with getting those likes up so that you might earn something on your post instead of just a few cents.
Good luck and Steem on!

yes I'm already on the abundance channel! ;) steem on!

Excellent. There is always someone to help just by asking.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.18
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83