ALL These Cookies are for the Homeless: THANK YOU STEEMIT!

in #steemit6 years ago

It has been a rough day, and the best thing to do when life has you weary is celebrate. Today I am celebrating YOU! So many of you pitched in with donations during our Cookies for the Homeless drive that we were able to purchase 56 (FIFTY-SIX!) assorted boxes of Girl Scout cookies from my two daughters’ troops.

Here is my littlest little with the cookies in our trunk:

image

She is so proud, and she should be. Buying these cookies for the homeless was her idea. She pushed for it and so we did it. And YOU helped.

Thank you to everyone who upvoted and resteemed the fundraiser posts. And thank you to the following individuals for your generous donations:

1.000 SBD from @happycrazycon
0.100 SBD from @traciyork via @tipu
0.052 from @jaymesbawned, a Steemit newbie who gave everything he's earned so far.
1.000 SBD from @appiepearl
0.100 SBD from @sultnpapper via @tipu
5.000 STEEM from @sultnpapper
0.500 SBD from @bubbleboy
15.00 SBD from @rachelhanson10
$20.00 USD from a local patron
$2.00 USD from another local patron

I pitched in an additional 20 boxes to match the first leg of fundraiser success.

image Most of those cases are full and unopened!

Prior to this image, 4 boxes were given to a family who lost their home and business in a fire. You can read about that here. The cookies brought them a lot of joy as they will no doubt do when distributed by the local housing authorities.

image

Again, THANK YOU, STEEMIT! You are the greatest community. We are grateful to and for you.

(If you donated and I missed tagging you, please speak up! My total is still coming in under the amount required to buy the number of boxes we did which means I have misplaced a few numbers, and I want to be sure to thank you!)

Happy Steeming!

Shawna

Sort:  

Really?

when distributed by the local housing authorities.

that killed it for me. I do not trust any such organisation. They will choose who gets and who does not - instead of the heart of your daughter and you.

Aww. Well, one of our Girl Scout moms works with the distributor, so there will be oversight. The idea is to split them up between shelters.

@arthur.grafo I would love your feedback. Are you thinking the girls should go and give them out themselves? We are wrapping up some that we purchased for vets and giving them to the VA. We could do something similar—like take them to a soup kitchen or shelter ourselves. It’s just we have a great housing setup here and they will reach the families with kids first—people we can’t easily find on our own.

Thanks for replying.

I believe that if I help a wealthy person, I do not have to be AS considerate of their dignity and feelings.

Those who have been mistreated by life, if we are truly caring, we must be more empathic.

For instance, one way of seeing it; if the housing or other organisation give the families the cookies, it is sort of impersonal, so (they will feel) they are not expected to feel grateful, so they are less likely to resent what you do. On the other hand, if a child gives the box, saying, "Thank you for letting me make your kids happy", the reasonable ones are less likely to resent it, while many will feel good that their children mean something to others also.

As you can see, it is a grey area and it all depends on how they are helped.

In a story by one of my favourite authors (now deceased), Anne McCaffrey, she has a society who thank those they are allowed to help, for it makes them be better people.

Do you know of a lttle girl (Jordan) who won the Norway Has Talent contest? She appeared on stage, then and on all subsequent performances, barefoot. They asked her why and she explained that her mother took her to India and she saw a little girl sitting on the pavement, selling a few things. She talked to the child and the child admired her sandals. She asked the girl, why aren't you wearing shoes, and the girl admitted she does not have enough money - so she took off her shoes and gave them to the girl. Now she appears barefoot so as to remind audiences of how it is all over the world for the poor.

If a child came to me and said, "uncle, can I give you a chocolate?" I would be touched. If an adult does, I just might think, does he/she think I am that poor?

I hate it that people no longer feel they should help each other, since the government or various charities will help those in need. We, the giver, lose out. Doing good deeds does not only make us feel good, it makes us become good (better people).

Try to use your own way of helping, that is caring for others, but also is of maximum benefit to your child. Will she really feel as good, that she has done something wonderful, if the boxes are handed over to a charity? A tip: My niece runs a charity and does very well thank you, since she is allowed by law to keep about 30% of whatever she is given for covering her costs.

Why not ask the Housing org to allow your child and you to be with and actually hand out the boxes (explain you are doing it so as to teach your child that giving is beautiful). Think they will agree?

I've said enough, so now you tell me. Help without having to do extra? or is the act of giving important. Be 'selfish' whenever it means teaching your child to grow up caring, wihout her becoming a 'snowflake'.

Check your account, I am transferring SDB $2 to you for the cause - and give your child a kiss on her cheek from me and tell her I think she has a wonderful heart and I admire her.

What a beautiful response. Thank you for taking the time! I love your points about how giving the cookies personally makes it more real for the child. I think we will do this. I may check with my friend in housing, but I think we could also stop at one of the soup kitchens when people are lining up or many other options.

Your point about showing respect and empathy is spot on.

What a beautiful response. Thank you for taking the time! I love your points about how giving the cookies personally makes it more real for the child. I think we will do this. I may check with my friend in housing, but I think we could also stop at one of the soup kitchens when people are lining up or many other options.

Your point about showing respect and empathy is spot on.

Please i donated 2sbd as part of Lili's fund raising with the memo you gave
into your account. But i didn't get the update on that.
Please is this one part of it or it is different?
I would love to know the update on Lili's fund raising too.
Thank you. @shawnamawna.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63781.73
ETH 3407.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47