Read to Lead

in #steemit7 years ago

579D1D6B-E54A-47E2-93A3-C9B91913D4D4.jpeg

I don’t know about you, but reading the Steemit articles or taking a different route and listening to podcasts or Ted talks has been like a mid match banana to a tennis player for me - a huge source of energy. Infact, taking moments to read has probably kept my mental health in check. In most cases, it’s not that I apply any ideas that I read directly, although that can happen. It’s more about the new slant on something or the jogged memory that triggers a different thought process. If I read and then drive somewhere or perhaps more safely, stand in the shower – my brain goes into overdrive as it moves into that well documented flow state and mercilessly plays with the ideas. I love it ! These moments are truly effervescent and re-charging!

So, if you’re feeling less creative than normal, perhaps even a little stressed about your ability to think of fresh ideas why not immerse yourself with other people’s stories for a short while. If you have a team member who isn’t reaching their full creative potential, why not role model reading and invite them to talk to you about what they read or set up a lunchtime book club. And just incase reading isn’t your thing, well, any media can stimulate your thinking – and it most certainly doesn’t have to be purely in your own area of expertise.

For those that I have coached and pointed in this direction, I’m pleased to say, it has become part of their own personal business as usual. Not, I might add, because I’ve told them to, but because they have realised success through it. Their reading has prompted discussion sessions with teams around a topic (building teams and sparking ideas), it has helped them to challenge decisions on processes or just ask more questions of their teams, it has helped them to mitigate risks and some have paid it forward and written their own articles to share experience. In all cases, it has helped the individual to think more creatively, try out things, be less scared of failure and more excited about what value they can offer their industry.

Hope you enjoyed the read!
248B706F-D52E-4DDE-A0C2-49899EEA8376.jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63459.73
ETH 2599.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78