You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A few thoughts on the 19 May 2018 witness chat, including some ‘discourse analysis’

in #steemit6 years ago

Glad you joined in yesterday @reviseociology and thank you for your take away impressions of the chat.

I see that @abh12345 has already talked about the spam issue. Part of what was discussed yesterday was that somehow balance has to be found that limits the spammers while not making it almost impossible for the new person who isn't investing. There was a witness or two who seem to feel people should invest or so what, but I don't get that sense that is a general consensus.

I don't know that we can suggest that the majority of the witnesses are American. For instance, you likely assumed that @crimsonclad and @drakos are American, they are Canadian. There are about 160 active witnesses and they do come from different parts of the world.

To the best of my knowledge, 8 of those present yesterday were Americans, 2 Canadians, 1 Australian living in Croatia, 1 British, 1 Indonesian, 1 Venezuela (living in France) and I'm not sure where the other two hailed from. Might want to keep in mind that with me being in Canada, the time zone would make it difficult for some to attend.

Someone else asked about the number of women who are witnesses. I'm aware of four, @patrice and @thekitchenfairy are sole witnesses and @crimsonclad and @paulag are in witness partnerships.

Sort:  

Thanks very much for the reply and for the stats: still very American though, but point taken about time zones.

NB - I'm not being critical of the skewed representation, I'm just interested about such offline realities.

I certainly got the impression that limiting bandwidth was a 'done deal' for a future hardfork, but I wasn't suggesting most of the witnesses have a 'blasse' attitude about this.

Thanks for hosting the show btw, it's an invaluable forum for the platform!

I didn't take it as being critical.. more was making sure that we were both aware of the time zone potentially helping to skew the representation

Going to be doing another on June 16th same time

I'll look forward to it.

It'll give me a break from exam marking (peak season mid June!)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57741.16
ETH 2947.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69