You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Love Steemit AND Its Haters & Complainers

in #steemit8 years ago

Some people just feel threatened by someone else being able to be open and honest. They take that sense of threat to their own ideas and belief system and launch an attack. I've seen this in a lot of situations.

Sometimes I tend to rise to it. If I see someone being bullied and disrespected I have a bad habit of wanting to jump to the person's defense. Working hard on learning balance between supporting someone and just getting into a fight.

Sort:  

I think many empathetic people feel a need to jump in when they see an injustice happening. I like to call it support or solidarity rather than defending. I would like to see a world where we learn that we all have the ability to stand for what we are believing in at the moment, and that we don't need to do that at the expense of another. We don't ever have to choose to be victims. With all the words we could use, especially in written conversations when we have the luxury of time, we can start by choosing the words that are more emotionally neutral, re-read before sending, and ask ourselves would I be ok being on the receiving end of this comment?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60291.00
ETH 2583.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55