Quote of the Week- Control

in #steemit7 years ago

Hey Guys

It's me again. Today I would like to discuss control. I am known as someone that likes control. I like to be the one to say what happens and where. Thus when unpredictable things happen I get stressed out and struggle to deal with it. This is something I had to work very hard to fix because, as the above quote states, you can't control the uncontrollable.

There are two distinct reactions to control.
There are the people (like me) that want every part of their life, and even of those around them, controlled and planned out to the T.

Then there are the people that don't like control at all. They don't plan to control anything and many times opportunities miss them as they don't take control

Then there is the balanced people

It took me a while to figure out how to balance this. I had to learn some pretty hard lessons while doing this. As a perfectionist and control freak I was a nightmare. I remember my friends coming for advice and me pretty much trying to force them to do what I thought was best, with no regard for their feelings and opinions. I also remember taking no control and watching friends fall more and more into depression. Through out all this I learnt a very important lessons.

  1. Accept that some things are unpredictable and can't be controlled
  2. This doesn't mean I should be completely passive, whether it be a person or an opportunity, if the time is right then a little bit of control is not a bad thing
  3. Learn when control is needed or when support is needed
  4. Seize any opportunity that comes your way
  5. The only person that can be controlled is yourself

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51