Today I Made My First Real World Purchase Using Steem

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

SteemSilver.jpg

By real world, I don't mean I went out to a store and spent my Steem, though I would be thrilled to discover any retailers in my area or even in the entire province of Ontario that accept Steem. No, when I say real, I mean that I spend Steem on a tangable, physical product.

This is the first time I've ever done that. I've often traded my Steem/SBD for Bitcoin or Litecoin to use with online retailers that accept only the most popular cryptocurrencies, but I've never spent my Steem directly on a product.

Until Now!


Soon I will be the proud owner of my very own Steem Silver Round.

You can preorder the 2018 silver pieces from @steemsilverround here using Steem (not SBD), other cryptocurrencies, or PayPal.

Thanks to @mattclarke for the tip!

Why Does This Matter?


A big part of escaping the tyranny of government and fiat currency is to begin treating this funny internet money as real currency.

Yea, yea, I'm making a big deal over nothing, you say. You may be partially right.

I doubt the man will be quaking in his boots because I bought a silver coin valued at $23 of his dollars while circumventing his system and currency completely. But it's a small step in the right direction. If the culture and economy continues to shift in this direction, it won't take long for government to lose most of its power.

These are exciting times.

~Seth

Sort:  

Once Steemians at the local level start interacting with one another, day-to-day transactions will just start being settled in Steem or SBD. This will start to happen once Steemit starts approaching the size of Twitter/Facebook in terms of users.

Instead of going to the local Wall Mart, Stemmians will just buy and sell stuff from each other.

This is a beautiful vision of the future :)

Great call. You'll love it, maybe too much.
Silver gets in your blood. It just feels so genuine.
Appreciate the shoutout, Seth :)

Congratulations @sethlinson! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85