Shifting My Focus to Add Value to the Steemit Community

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

review.jpg

I'm Back!


Over the last month, I took an unplanned hiatus from Steemit. Now, I wasn't completely gone. I checked in every few days to drop some upvotes. I withdrew funds from my wallet to do some trading. I checked in on my bot from time to time.

Oh yea, I should do a plug:


In case you haven't heard, I run a bot called @honestbot. It's the pioneer "ethical bid bot." The first bidbot of its kind to guarantee a profitable upvote by ensuring that the value of bids never exceeds the value of the bot's vote. If you want to give @honestbot a try, send a bid of at least 0.02 STEEM/SBD with your post link in the memo!

Plug over.

There won't be any more ads on this post. I promise!

I took a break from art and blogging because I've been so bogged down by school and other life commitments. But my semester is finally winding down so you can expect to see me around these parts a lot more!

A Review


In my time off, I had a chance to consider my experience here on Steemit and how I want to improve things going forward. In summary, I want to generally redirect my account to focus more on involvement in the Steemit community.

I am not a whale by any metric. But I've been on this platform long enough and I've earned enough power to be in a position where I can help others. I had already made some steps in this direction before the unplanned sabbatical. For example, I ran a few art contests with the goal of getting lesser-known bloggers exposure and prizes.

There's also the matter of my afore-mentioned bot. I've delegated nearly all of my SP to @honestbot because, while imperfect and riddled with problems, bid bots are seen as valuable to minnows who want that extra boost. I wanted to offer something that would change the landscape of the market and give more than it would take.

My goal is to take greater initiative to involve myself in the community and provide something of value.


This is my plan going forward:

1. More comments

I'll admit that I have often been guilty of blogging selfishly. I would write my posts and hope for big returns without reading much content from the other hard-working content creators on Steemit. Now I want to read more than I write, and contribute valuable comments.

Nothing makes a blogger feel better than seeing someone else who actually read their post and gave it enough thought to leave a valuable comment. Nothing beats that feeling... except maybe an $800 payout!

2. Less shitposts

I don't think much of my content is that bad, but I will concede that I'm sometimes lazy in my writing. This is especially true when payouts are high. I blog without thinking knowing that I can expect at least a couple bucks out of that post. Going forward I intent to choose quality over quantity in my posts.

3. More contests

My audience of 2000 followers will seem meager to some and large to others. The goal of my art contests is to help minnows with a small audience to get more exposure and it also gives them a chance to win some money. Steem is hard to earn when you have a small following, so I'm glad to help out littler fish than me with these contests.

4. More giveaways

I've done a few art giveaways on my blog. I'd like to increase my output. It's another small way for me to give back to this community that's done so much for me.

5. More resteems

I know some people get annoyed by resteems. They followed me for my content. But I hope they won't begrudge me for resteeming the occasional quality post. I'll try to look for users with small audiences with great content to give them a helping hand.


There it is. Most of my ideas come down to simply doing more of the good things I've already done on the platform. But I'm open to suggestions.

Do you have any ideas about what I can do with my blog to help/engage the Steemit community?

~Seth

Sort:  

Hi Seth,

Welcome back. :)

I love the Anarchy in the media, like Hobbit/JRR Tolkien posts. Maybe, a wider scope of media? That really helps me feel less alone so to speak.

I do want to focus my blog more on art, because that's my specialty (if I have one). And that includes many art forms like fine art, writing, film, etc.

If I can tie those things to an anarchist message, even better! I'm glad you've liked my posts like that, hopefully I can put out more.

You just gave me an idea. We just got the D&D 5e DMG and my 15yo daughter is having a blast creating a world. I'm old school, was a teen when it first came out and still have 1e PH and DMG.

Maybe given Tolkien and others, I should start to build a works showing the long-term failures of statists. I think I could do it Eberron style having several long-term countries/societies near those statist collapses of excess of each of them and having to make one's way in that environment.

I've thought about putting threads of anarchy into my D&D stories. I haven't done anything explicit yet, but I do tend to make governments either incompetent or straight-up evil.

On a different thread, I'd love to see you work through those videos from how I first found you. I think Steem as other cryptos with actual usage will start to seriously grow in value after the bubble-burst we went through. People will be more choosy on what cryptos they invest in. Steem has a use for its coin, written, pictorial, audio and video (with audio of course).

Your videos explaining more and adjusted if the model has changed, would be very helpful now as I think the timing would be as well. I'm sure they weren't easy to make.

I'm working out of some debt, but them I'm upgrading memory on this machine to get up to par with the DaVinci Resolve 15 package that is in beta. I'm looking to move some of my YT videos here but also only put new videos here as well and look to other sources to drive traffic to DTube.

I want to make more videos this summer. I'm working on something different for Steem right now. It's a big project that will take up a lot of my time, but when I get a chance, I will certainly do more Steemit Explained shorts!

Interesting. More contests and giveaways sounds good. And perhaps focus more on minnows who get less attention usually.

That's the goal :)

I have never been using a bots for a few months. I am lucky that i get a good vote tough. More I like to know more of the other and reading their post.

This is the ifirst time I heard the honestbot. will spread the news to my friedns here.

Ans also, welcome back t steemit. : 0

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63342.09
ETH 2658.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81