Is it me or will Steemit collapse beneath its' own weight?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)


So I was told from a pretty young age that persistence and consistency breed success. After submitting my first article earlier today, I decided to go scouring through the Steemit posts to see what people are actually writing. Not to mention noticing the border line spam in comments from people just to get rewards. I mean is it so hard for a community to pull together and work a system properly; or is that just my narrow mindedness coming through? Don't get me wrong, there are some pretty amazing articles and content being shared and created on here, but the amount of absolute trash that some people are just spilling out to get votes; 90% of which is just rehashed from other websites. Surely an economy can't be sustainable whereby the majority of the community is only involved for one thing and that's to bleed as much out as they can before it all collapses beneath it's own weight? 

I never took to the whole YouTube scene because I felt I wasn't worth people's time to watch. But then I heard about this platform and I was ecstatic to possibly find somewhere I could call home and do what I enjoy the most, typing and engaging through text. As they say in the classics, I have a face for radio. Would it not be more beneficial to the community to rather maximize the quality of content rather than the quantity? And perhaps turn this platform into the next YouTube of social media. I mean currently it already facilitates video, but majority of the content is text based, so this could be the what I would call "YouPaper". 

Sure I've been on here for less than 24 hours, but it doesn't take a rocket scientist to raise their eye brows and question the system they plan on vesting so much time in. I want to inspire, create and give sustenance to the community through text and depictions, not vote everything I see just to make a small buck here and there. Yes everyone is on here to make money I'm sure, but wouldn't the economy thrive with more topic specific content that isn't sucked from Google with a copy paste?

Anyway this was just a little rant and rhetorical question I needed to get off my chest. I'll try summ up the will to post again tomorrow. 

Sort:  

Add some quality content and ignore the spammers. Persistence and value are key to success. Teach people what you know and show them how you do it :)

Its still young. I expect that as we grow and mature that the quality posts and consistent thoughtful posts will force the spammers and faux post out. You can only get away with that stuff for so long.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44