What's more important, Content Quality or Personal Experience?

in #steemit8 years ago

Warning: You may feel an increased need to look in a mirror after reading this post.


Being a fairly new user I've been watching and following how Steemit has evolved. In the short time I've been here it's evolved frighteningly fast. So fast in fact that people are getting way too ahead of themselves. We're seeing people setting Standards that we simply must live up to within our own blog. "Do this with your post and you'll make $$$". Posts like this aren't genuine and they're definitely not original anymore. These kind of posts have us indulging in the pretentious act of trying to teach each other how to Steemit when even Steemit hasn't figured that out. We're setting the bar so high when we're only just getting started.
Ordinary everyday people come here at first thinking they'll be able to blog and get paid too. Imagine how quickly their Steem dreams are shattered after realizing they don't have the grammatical skill to produce what you're asking for or that they're not trendy enough for the market. We're each forgetting one simple thing... They're our own personal blogs. Created by ourselves and not anyone else. We are free to do with our blog as we so please (within TOS guidelines of course). Which being the case begs to question, "why aren't some of us just being ourselves?".
Indivudality. That's originality right. We don't all act the same in real life so why must we all write the same; post the same. Ridiculous. What kind of community would evolve from that. What kind of Community is already evolving from that. Can we not instead just stay humble bloggers, or do we each need to become whores of our self looking to pimp out our pretentiously made Steemit Avatars.
Steemit won't look like this forever either. One day you'll be looking back at your Steemit blog and you might think to yourself, "why the fuck did I post that... that's not like me." You'll remember that it was because someone else told you it was a good idea to do so because they did it and got paid for it. Nobody knows how to Steemit . You can say you do but you don't. It's too new to determine what is or isn't. That's beside the point. The point is, a lot of us are forgetting the bigger picture by forgetting who we are. Why else do you think the introduceyourself section is so popular. People want to know you. If you're currently ignoring these things then think about this. What happens when you run out of fleeting ideas pertaining to some made up life you've been sharing instead. I'll tell you what happens. You'll end up sitting there wondering why you washed up and you'll know, deep down, you sold out from the beginning.
I'm a realist. It's not hard to be real. Being yourself is being real. We're each individual. Technically, we should all be doing something different but we're not. I'm not trying to be pretentious too but I am saying that there's some things that are more important when it comes to a killer post. The image of yourself that you portray is of far greater importance. If your blog were a painting would you not spend time to paint it right? I'm speaking from personal experience too. I've made my blog look like rubbish at times, even recently. Every time it's caused being 100% true to who I am. I've learned my lesson. Will Steemit learn too or will we keep sharing the same content around like Facebook users do with their shitty 7 second videos that make you laugh at the cost of making you less intelligent. It's entirely up to you and you alone to decide what you put on your page but I think it's important. I think it's important that we stay true to the content we know. I think it's important we worry less about quality content and think more about how our community looks to the outside world. Personally, when I click on a blog post to read I do so because it looks individual. It probably stands out of the crowd by blogging things no one else has blogged about yet. These are the kind of users that I like to follow. They're the true bloggers that I aspire to be like. If you're being real and not fake then Kudos to you. You're the ones bringing in new users.

#keepitreal #stayicy

Sort:  

I'm actually sick of people telling me to do this and that to earn money. Because this is for my genuine and honest opinion and thoughts, not theirs.

That's the best way to do this. Self expression is what a blog is for!

Great post, I would only recommend to break the text with some paragraphs. Some visitors might bounce before actually reading just because of dense appearance.

I was going too but I didn't want to break up the rant style I was going for.

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 4.5 and reading ease of 85%. This puts the writing level on par with Ernest Hemingway and Donald Trump.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60320.14
ETH 3373.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51