A Sagas Conclusion: The Coinbase hack that stole my life's savings will not be reimbursed, but Steemit has given me the resolve to hope for the future!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Hi all,

Before I launch into the conclusion of this 3 day long emotional beatdown I would first like to thank all the kind and supportive people who commented and upvoted my post (all 210+ of you) https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@sensatus/if-you-have-a-coinbase-account-beware-spread-the-word-fellow-steemians-and-cryptotraders

Especially to you @shayne for really bringing the bulk of the attention to my plight by simply resteeming my post, it meant a lot my friend, thank you again! The dozens of people who offered me their well wishes and support allowed me to make it through the rough patch I had last night, once again, Steem adds another blessing to an already long list.

On to the story, this morning, renewed with vigor and determination I set out to appeal with coinbase, though unfortunately I got slapped down again. If you are new to this saga, here is a brief summary. On Tuesday a hacker gained access to both my gmail and coinbase accounts by using information taken from the anthem blue cross insurance hack and proceeded to wipe my account that I had invested my life's savings into. The hackers also closed my account to prevent me from seeing the addresses my coins had been sent to. And to top it off they had also used my account to violate the terms and conditions of coinbase. As such coinbase has pointed to that as a scapegoat and has refused to allow me to reclaim the 1.2 BTC I had stolen from me. Essentially, it is over, I will not be getting my money back, atleast not from Coinbase.

I've spent the last 3 hours sitting and thinking, trying to keep myself composed and not allow myself to get angry or depressed. I have to keep a level head if I am going to recover from this, and as someone in the last article pointed out, I'm only 18 and luckily my life's savings was 3,500$ and not 1 million. I have decided that I will not leave crypto, I love this community and the whole concept too much to do that. This community is filled with wonderful people, good honest people, and if @darthnava can muscle through a surgery and his struggles, which make mine look paltry by comparison, than I can too!

image

People like @justtryme90, @papa-pepper, @trafalgar, @timsaid, @noisy, @jerrybanfield and hundreds of others have built incredible things here on steemit and have achieved their dreams. Using the example set by so many others before me, I will work my hardest to make my dreams come true aswell. Though while I was hoping this would be cleared up and I could have both this life lesson and my money back, I guess that just isn't what was meant to be. I am not one to beg for others help, maybe it is my own pride and or stubbornness, but I believe that if I am in trouble I should work my hardest to get myself out of it. But alas everyone needs people who they can turn to, and lucky for me I have the wonderful people of Steemit. I used to think social media was a joke, steemit is helping me to realize I was wrong. So once again thank you!

I have been blessed my first week here on steem, and I am looking forward to the next year and beyond!

If you would like to help me and others, please resteem or promote this post! I know a lot of people could be at risk of losing a lot more than I did, so please spread the word!

Thank you all, and have a great day!

Sensatus

Sort:  

I wish you good fortune :)

Thank you once again! Your previous resteem made my warning about coinbase post the most popular one I have right now! Your generosity is truly humbling, thank you again!

I posted your story on twitter. I lost 2 BTC when cryptsty went solvent. At the time it was not alot but now it is almost 6k. It's a lesson in life dude. Keep pushing on.

Arelowo Arelowo tweeted @ 08 Jun 2017 - 15:50 UTC

@coinbase @adachis @CodyBrown

This is happening way too often now!!!

steemit.com/bitcoin/@sensa… / https://t.co/1KTvreZmhl

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

I once gave $5850 USD to a Silver Company that I did business with before. They cashed my check and filed bankruptcy. I have seen nothing back from it yet, so I know how you feel.

I'll head back and upvote whatever posts you still can get payouts on.

Oh my... that is horrible, I am so sorry to hear that, that amount of money lost makes me hurt internally. Also that is really generous of you! Thank you so much! If you could, and I hope this isn't asking too much of you, could you make a post regarding this stream of hacking incidents or resteem my own post, so others can take precautions for their own portfolios. Coinbase left me out to die, but luckily I only lost 3,500, some people could lose much more, and I think since you have a much larger audience the message could be spread much faster! In any case you truly are the saint everyone says you are! Thank you for again everything.

I'll read your other one and see.

I can edit it if you would like me to aswell

The fact that you are even considering doing so, is frankly unbelievable... I am really humbled, thank you

Followed you! Upvoted this! Thanks again for sharing all this. Wish you the best.

I'm sure you have heard how cheap of a lesson this really is, does not help does it? Life just kicks you in the Jimmy sometimes. Best of everything and steem on🐟

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57893.29
ETH 3130.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44